Was Bradford the Worst defeat ever?

I was a young man; enjoying school and starting upon a proper social life. you know – the one that happens outside school when you meet like minded folk from other schools. And there were girls. Yes, it was more than just telling your close mates that Gail X was very attractive, it was having the nerve to go and ask Gail X for a date.

But the problem with girls was that they got in the way of football and football took up all my waking time (and most of my dreams). By this time I had realised the need for priorities in life; I knew that going to Highbury was more important than a Saturday job. I knew that listening to Radio London was more important than doing my Geography homework and I knew that Clapton was the heart, Hendrix was the soul and Tamla Motown was the feet.

What has this to do with Arsenal? Well, such a combination was sure to have it’s problems. My attachment to Arsenal was the over-riding feature of my life but girls were coming up fast on the rails. Then this happened …..

Swindon. Wembley. Saturday 15th March 1969.

Unknown

I had been going out with Gail for a few weeks. Not got much further than a bit of canoodling but I knew she really liked me and there was potential (if you get my drift :-)  ). I had my Wembley tickets  and arranged to meet her at Golders Green station after the game.

The journey to Wembley was a victory march. Gooners were celebrating pre-match,; how could we possibly lose to a 3rd Div side? We knew the pitch was difficult but we had Ure and we had Raddy and we had Geordie Armstrong, Bob Wilson and Captain Mclintock. Hard men, experienced Internationals, men who had grown up playing on ploughed fields. You know what happened …. it went tits up.

Post game was a disconsolate walk back to Golders Green (a long way) thinking about the dreadful week to come at school. All my mates were Chelsea, West Ham or Spurs. I knew what was in store for me. I wanted to hide away – even better move to a secret Caribbean island with no contact to the outer world, just a few coconut trees and a Girl Friday. But I had Gail to look forward to.

She was waiting for me by the number 13 bus stop, the one under the railway arch – you know the place. She looked great; miniskirt, platform shoes, tight cashmere jumper and was smiling when she saw me. I was gutted, just gutted by the result. She kissed me, I didn’t respond, she kissed me again, I didn’t respond. Then she said the words that echo around my head all these years later …….  “It’s Only a Game”.

I knew immediately. There was a lightning flash of awareness, an understanding of the path my future life would follow.

“A Game?” I replied. “This is the single most catastrophic event since Adam ate the apple”

I turned and left, walking the couple of miles home. Gail phoned me many times over the next week but I was and remained cold to her charms.

How could anyone not understand the pain a defeat like that can cause to a bleed red and white Gooner? How insensitive was this woman? From this day forward I would protect myself from such callousness (well, at least for a couple of weeks!)

But what was the under-text? It was this: Whatever has happened in my life – and there have been many catastrophies and triumphs – Arsenal have always been there. The camaraderie, the  bond, the facing tribulation with common purpose.

So, when we lost to Bradford it wasn’t the worst defeat in my Arsenal history, it wasn’t even in the Top 20. Sure it hurt but the win at Reading was more important.

I have spent tens of thousands of pounds, lost girlfriends and mates, been scared witless, been hugely depressed and suffered taunts and abuse as a result of my support for Arsenal. But the joy …… the joy …..

Would I change it? To be honest there are some days when my obsession has weighed heavy and I think to myself. – “it is time to let it go” – but I know I won’t.

I made my choice when I walked away from Gail.

What was your worst Arsenal experience?

p.s. Gail later married (& divorced) a cousin of Peaches. He’s a West Ham fan ( served him right :evil:  )

Written by Big Raddy

115 Responses to Was Bradford the Worst defeat ever?

  1. kelsey says:

    Raddy

    I remember that day if it was yesterday. You are right that we thought it was a fore gone conclusion we would win. I even had yellow and blue ribbons on my car.
    The pitch was a bog, Rodgers had a blinder and Gould cried when he scored.

    It hurt real bad i felt we had been humiliated yet who was to know that the following season we would win a trophy.

    By the way what did Gail look like, she wasn’t the local bike by any chance :)

  2. VCC says:

    .I was very fortunate in my youth to be able to see most of Arsenals encounters at Wembley, live. The football team I played for used to get two tickets every year from the FA,and as I was the only Arsenal fan in the side I got one and the other used to get auctioned off.

    It was indeed a low in my Arsenal supporting life. I have had many, too many to print. BUT, I have also had high’s. Fortunately the high’s outweigh the lows.

    That 1969 cup final v Swindon, was played on a quagmire pitch, only one week after being used for a horse show.

    It was cut to pieces, and had ruts all over it, a great leveller. Sure, both teams had to play on it but at the time Swindon were two leagues below us. Arsenal complained but to no avail.

    Bobby Gould had his blind Father in the stands, and had his wife relaying every move. He scored Arsenals equaliser and I swear he was running towards me in the stands. I was right in line with his path but he stopped short. He took a whack to the chest as he was scoring and showed a nice bruise after the match.

    You cannot beat the atmosphere going to Wembley to see your side playing in the cup final. I was lucky on several occasions.

  3. Red Arse says:

    Loved that whimsical trip down memory lane, Raddy! :-)

    I suspect that you carried a candle for your Gail Friday for quite some time, as you remember the details and the name so well.

    I have great difficulty even remembering what various girls looked like! Shallow or what? :D

  4. Ha ha Big & Randy, when you turned and walked away after “It’s only a game” sums up why being a Gooner is an affliction, an unfathomable affliction at that to outsiders.

    The pain of many defeats (against Brum FC in the Fizzy Cup final, The Catalan Divers in the CL final 2006, West Sham in the FA Cup in 1980, the list goes on) never goes away, but the pride of valiant victory is something to savour.

    Beating Barca on the other hand at our place last year made you proud to be a Gooner.

  5. Gooner8 says:

    Another fine article from you Biggie. My worst Arsenal experience was when we lost to Everton at the hands of young shriek and handed the League to Manure.Its such a shame mop head Boris decided to scrap the route masters on the bus 13. I grew up in Hendon and still reside here.

  6. Worst defeat for me has to be Valencia in the Euro Cup Winners Cup final in 1980.The defeat to West Ham at Wembley in the F.A. Cup final was followed by Valencia.The train journey from Heysel stadium to Ostend was the worst journey of my life.We lost both finals that we should have won,that was the worst week of my life!

  7. VCC says:

    Hi Vincent…..We may have sat next to each other, I was at both those games too. :-)

  8. Breezy says:

    For me it was that FA Cup semi final in ’99 (i think) DB10 missing a penalty and then Giggs waltzing pass our defence in extra time to score. Even the teachers gave me a hard time the following morning.

  9. Big Raddy says:

    kelsey. No, the school bike was called ……

    And I thought I was special :-(

    RA. Gail Friday :-D

  10. Big Raddy says:

    Breezy. Did you have to bring that up. Horrible drive to that shitpit and an even worse one back. A dreadful experience.

    Whilst we are riffing on pain …… Spurs semi-final at Wembley, Gazza and Links.

    Chelsea ECL 2nd Leg at home. Fat Frank scoring in front of the CE and the only time I left before the end off a game.

  11. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Nice work Raddy, thanks.
    The last two home games in ’89 hurt, the Gazza semi was vile, but for real pain then I’m going for Paris. Bloody long wet night, and it was after all ‘Ol Big Ears we’re talking about.
    Sorry, very busy tday.

  12. Breezy says:

    Big Raddy. The Defeat at Leeds in ’99 again which cost us the title was another kick in cajonies. All in all that was a pretty sh1t year to be a gooner.

  13. VCC says:

    we cant get Schalke

  14. VCC says:

    Arsenal v Bayern Munchen

  15. JM says:

    Round of 16 Champions league draw:

    Galatasaray vs Schalke
    Celtic vs Juventus
    Arsenal vs Bayern Munich
    Shakhtar Donetsk vs Borussia Dortmund
    AC Milan vs Barcelona
    Real Madrid vs Man Utd.
    Valencia vs PSG
    Porto vs Malaga

  16. dandan says:

    I was at both those games to, not my best of times, but imagine the fate of a friend of mine a lifelong gooner, he lived near Swindon and travelled to the game on a Swindon coach with a Swindon ticket, would that not be the journey from hell. incidentally he met, married and divorced girl called Gail, how weird is that.

  17. Oh dear, at least we avoided Farca,,and let’s all laugh at ManUre, they get the Specious One’s team; I hope he outdoes Baconface with the mind games.

  18. Rasp says:

    Mmmmm Bayern … not the best draw, but who knows?

    Raddy, great trip down memory lane, I think I went out with Gail X after you from what she told me about her previous boyfriend ;)

  19. Breezy says:

    There’s some great ties there Us v Bayern; Man v Real; Milan v Barca. Feels like classic CL draw.

  20. slime says:

    Great draw. We were always going to play a tough team so to get a great team like Bayern should make for 2 exciting matches.

    I tipped them to win it, but hopefully we can give them a run.

    Unlucky for United! Winning the group isn’t everything it’s cracked up to be!

  21. Red Arse says:

    Raddy,

    Actually, now you have stirred up the memory banks and reminded me of an adolescent experience I had long forgotten.

    I went to an English boys boarding school for two years, when I was 15 — don’t ask me why — it was very austere, lonely and scary – at first – but ultimately it was a wonderful and rhapsodic part of my life.

    An affiliated girls’ day school lay about half a mile away, and as my school was for boys only, we did our best to make contact with them. But that’s a whole other story. :-)

    There was an exchange of official documents between the schools – I have no idea what they were, but one of the senior boys was appointed as the ‘Postie’, and his duties involved walking to the other school, with these ‘important’ letters and such like correspondence and bringing back similar documents.

    When I had been there 6 months, the original Postie left, and presumably because I was a lanky galoot, and not too likely to be set upon by rowdies from some other school, I somehow was given the job.

    I swiftly became the most popular guy at my school, and everyone’s best friend, especially among the love struck senior guys, and their equally smitten girlfriends.
    The reason? As it turned out there was a secret and illicit ‘love letter exchange’ element to my role, with correspondence flowing back and forth. Blue enveloped letters from the guys to the girls and pink envelopes back for the guys. [They probably thought a Yank would get confused elsewise.] :P

    My contact at the girls’ school was their 17 year old head prefect, who instructed me on where to go, what excuses to make, when necessary, and what time to be at the rendezvous.
    I enjoyed the whole deal – even if she was a bossy boots! :lol:

    That Summer we had an Open Day and there were various forms of entertainment arranged, including a horse riding and mini show jumping event.
    To my profound delight – tho I played it cool – was Ursula the Head Prefect Bees Knees, on whom I now had a groin aching crush.
    She was mounted, dressed in immaculate attire, astride her handsome gelding called, rather prosaically, Benny, and looked every inch like a blonde, English princess.
    My heart – not to mention my loins – flipped giddily!

    Long story short – I made excuses to be with her most of the morning – which as a 15 year old meant being in an euphoric state of complete obeisance, best described as being her minion, her abject ‘go fer’. :-)

    That afternoon, as she sat on her pony, I tightened the girth straps as instructed, and managed to cut my hand quite badly. She leapt down, tore a strip off her blouse and roughly bandaged my ‘wound’ and managed to get blood all over her riding trousers while doing so, and offering endearing words of care and profuse sorrow to her ‘handsome American cowboy’. [Well, she called me something like that!!] :lol:

    Her mother quickly arrived as if from nowhere, and said Bossy Boots Ursula wold have to go home and change, and might as well take the pony back too.

    It turned out they lived maybe a mile away on the banks of the Thames, and Bossy asked me if I could give her a hand taking the pony home in the horse van – well, naturally, I almost swooned dead away, and immediately gave up any pretense of playing it ‘cool’, and fell prostrate at her feet licking her boots. [OK that did not happen, physically, but in my head it felt absolutely the right thing to do] :P

    Sadly, for all the wishful thinking of a 15 year old love lorn schoolboy, her father was at home when we arrived and any lustful hopes were dashed.

    But ……………. when quizzing me, as parents who had daughters I came into contact with tended to do — I told him I was an Arsenal fan, though the school played rugby, he responded by telling me that he was an Arsenal shareholder, and because Ursula made me sound like an heroically wounded and honourable soldier, I suppose, he arranged for me to visit the ground for a look around, and the following Fall he sent me tickets for about 6 games, which the School Head felt obliged let me go to!

    Before he eventually drove me back to school that blissful afternoon, I had declared my undying love to a tearful Ursula.

    However, by the time I later returned to school for the Winter semester, I had fallen in love with at least a half dozen other girls in London during the hols, and my lust for Ursula was quickly forgotten.

    I still remember her dad with respectful affection though — he was an Arsenal man, after all!!

  22. Big Raddy says:

    Great story RA.

    BM. Tough but as others have said an exciting couple of games before we draw Barca in the next round

  23. VCC says:

    Nice tale Red Arse.

  24. kelsey says:

    I said earlier we would draw one of the fockers,so bring it on. We will need to watch their wide men so maybe on the list AW has identified he might go for a LB.

  25. Red Arse says:

    Now you guys are men of the world, and I am just a cynical old tosspot, BUT – I remember two years ago, just before one of the the CL draws, UEFA carried out there practise run through of the ceremony, and Arsenal were drawn against Barca.

    Guess what? We were drawn against Barca.

    This morning, the jackanapes who oversees the draw, was on Sky and blah dee blah, but in the practise run through, there we were — drawn against Bayern Munich.

    So watching the draw this morning it came as no surprise we were drawn against, BM!!

    Fix!!

  26. Ha ha Redders “jackanapes” – that’s being too kind to Platini;s shower.

  27. kelsey says:

    Now look at bayern’s record this season

    Played 17
    Home won 6 drawn 2 lost 1 goals for 24 against 6
    Away won 7 drawn 1 lost 0 goals for 20 against 1

    easy game :)

  28. kelsey says:

    I thought he had been a bit quiet lately

    Usmanov would like to have more power at Arsenal but stressed he would be reluctant to interfere in matters that are not his speciality.

    The Uzbek billionaire told CNBC: “It is my dream to have a controlling stake of Arsenal. I would never instruct the chief executive, and I would ask if they need my help.

    “If I had a big stake in Arsenal of course I would have my opinion of what we must do, for example on the commercial side.

    “I think there are also many questions about the management of Arsenal’s commercial activity.

    “We will see and we will wait. Maybe one day I will wake up and have control of Arsenal.”

    Usmanov was quizzed on the sale of Robin van Persie to Manchester United in the summer, with the Dutchman the latest star name to leave North London in recent years.

    He said: “This decision (letting Robin van Persie leave) is a mistake, but Wenger explained that Robin wanted to go to win trophies.”

    Asked specifically about Wenger, he said: “I’ve not heard about Arsene Wenger being against me being on the board.

    “Mr Wenger is one of the best coaches in the world. He has had many, many difficulties – of course today less so – during the last five years.

    “He hasn’t had enough support to achieve his conceptions of the game, with resources for transfers or keeping players.”

  29. Jack King says:

    It was a bad defeat, but not the worst ever due to other things that should be taken into consideration. The squad had recently been hit by a flu virus that prevented most of them from training during the week leading up to the match, and the pitch was a mess. For a showpiece game it was an absolute disgrace in fact, and of course there was Don Rogers….one of the best wingers of the period. I’d saved my programme vouchers and got my ticket and was situated high up behind the goal that Bobby Gould scored into, and really thought that we’d win in extra time, but the effort was too much for recovering players and we were overrun and Swindon scored two more.
    I met Bobby at recent fund raiser, and he’s a really great bloke who’s kept all his memorabilia and had brought it along with him, but more of a cricket player now though.

  30. slime says:

    Apparently RA, the whole draw was a repeat of the warm up! Suspicious?

    In response to the post BR, I find that defeats that are hardest to take are ones that mean something. Whilst the Bradford game was a low point, a giant killing in a QF can happen to anyone. I remember shedding tears at the Nayim wonder goal in the cup final, the 2nd leg of the Chelsea CL semi when we were expected to win the whole thing, and of course the CL final against Barca.

  31. Seems like Wenger is pouring cold water on the idea of buying in the January window: “What we do not want to do is add players just because people put us under pressure to buy players.”

    So, just TH14 back possibly for a 3rd spell and that’s your lot.

  32. LB says:

    You Wenger doubters are going to go into melt down when he says that the return of Diaby will be like a new signing. lol

  33. Ha Ha London, I think Vassiriki was the originator for the “LANS” phrase.

  34. LB says:

    I wonder how he got the name Vassiriki.

    From his parents ha ha.

    No really, is sounds Russian, not that I know much about first names in that country.

  35. Looking at our opponents in the next round, their nomenclature strikes me as odd.

    The first word is german and the second english., surely it should be one or the other, i.e Bavarian Munich or Bayern München?

    As germans tend to user the latter why doesn’t everyone ?

  36. Perhaps certain africans have a liking for Russian names, look at Song’s middle name: Dmitri.

  37. goonerjake says:

    Interesting what Usmanov has been saying. Say what you like about him but from only a ‘being fair’ point of view surely someone who owns 30% of a company deserves a say on how the company is run.

  38. RockyLives says:

    Splendid reminiscence BR

    Women come and go, but there will always be Arsenal :)

  39. RockyLives says:

    Regarding the CL draw, there is every possibility Madrid will eliminate ManUre, so if we can get past Bayern we should at least have the honour of being the most successful English club in this year’s CL, regardless of what happens afterwards.

  40. RockyLives says:

    I can see why people think of Bradford or Swindon as our worst results ever.

    But for me “worst result” is not the same as “worst performance”.

    My “worst result” was losing the FA Cup semi to ManUre in 1999.

    I am convinced to this day that if God had scored THAT penalty ManUre would have won zilch that year, never mind the treble.

    I still get depressed when I think of it now.

  41. evonne says:

    Men come and go, but there will always be Arsenal :)

    BR – I try not to read/comment/get involved between the games, but your post was well worth reading, nice

  42. Big Raddy says:

    evonne. How right you are .

  43. Big Raddy says:

    Very quiet today. Clearly a dull post or more likely headline. I should have written Messi signs for Arsenal.

  44. RockyLives says:

    Evonne :)

  45. I think everyone is doing the Xmas shopping Big Randy.

    Either that or stunned into silence at the thought of Bayern in the next round.

  46. RockyLives says:

    Actually everyone is scouring Google to find out what happened to Gail after she had been dumped by BR and Rasp, then divorced from the Hammer.

  47. RockyLives says:

    Who offered up Jake Bugg?

    Listening to him now and loving it.

  48. Sheep Hagger says:

    Hi
    My worst arsenal experience was losing to Wrexham
    In the late 80s.
    It was in the FA cup I was daunted.
    I still can’t watch that tea leaf Micky Thomas taking that free kick.
    Much love
    Sheep

  49. Sheep Hagger says:

    And on the visit of Bayern it will be a tough game as the German
    Teams are always well drilled in defence and attack.
    I bet The Pod is looking forward to going back there as he left as a flop.
    SH

  50. evonne says:

    Rocky – I did, ie Jake Bugg, good lad, isn’t he? only 18. For some reason I thought of Raddy when I heard him last week; no idea why, just thought BR would love that kind of music

    I also like Alex Turner’s soundtracks from the ‘Submarine’ movie; another old youngster

    Nobody gives us a chance against Bayern, me including

    Had a chat with my gorgeous Spurs loving gardener today. He knows our Jack’s family and confirmed the powder story :( feck feck feck :(

  51. kelsey says:

    I have a game that stands out for an annoying reason.it was when we won the title at WHL and we were winning 2-1 with a minute left and Lehmann had one of his mad moments and gave away a penalty. of course we still won the league but i could have killed him that day.

  52. RockyLives says:

    Thanks evonne – great referral.

    What powder story?

    Kelsey
    Yeah – I remember that it took a tiny bit of the gloss off it, didn’t it?

  53. 20/20Vision says:

    Isn’t that picture Leeds scoring a disputed goal v Arsenal Wembley League Cup Final 1968? Remember… we KO’d sperz in the ’69 League Cup semi so it wasn’t a total disaster

  54. evonne says:

    Rocky – the nose powder, you know… I don’t want to say it in case Arsenal haters see it

  55. Big Raddy says:

    20/20- Could be … my memory is shot and it is an image from a Google which is often wrong.

  56. chas says:

    Excellent post, BR.
    Even better considering the short gestation period. :)

    I know we’ve had the conversation before, but with age comes wisdom (for some anyway :) ).
    The wonderful advice of treating triumph and disaster as twin impostors becomes more acceptable as fact as you get a little wiser.
    Bradford doesn’t even scratch the surface these days. It used to take me days and weeks to get over a defeat in a big game when I was a nipper.
    Semi-finals are always bad to lose. That hairy chest one was particularly obnoxious.
    Finals are bad too, but I’m still glad we lost to West Ham and Ipswich while beating Manyoo. Beating the hammers and carrot munchers wouldn’t have been half as memorable if coupled with losing to the mancs.
    Chelsea 2002 or Southampton 2003? No contest. Speaking of finals, one of the only ones I haven’t been to was the scouse robbery of 2001. That one hurt.

    RA,
    Your story made me laugh. I thought I was reading 50 shades of girls on horseback for a moment.

    Evonne,
    Beware spud gardeners who want to get into your vegetable patch, telling lies to wind up a Gooner. Utter bollix

  57. Big Raddy says:

    evonne. I really hope that is untrue though nothing surprises me of pampered rich footballers. I am sure Adrian Mutu was the icing on the cake :-D

  58. RockyLives says:

    Evonne
    I wouldn’t place any store in what a Spud tells you, even if he is gorgeous.

  59. RockyLives says:

    Chas
    I was at the Scouse robbery final.
    I always thought that the Gods of Football gave us the FA Cup win over ManUre a few years later (when we played absolute pants) as recompense for getting mugged by the Dippers.

  60. chas says:

    Rocky,
    I really enjoyed the ‘we beat manyoo nil nil final’ but more from that feeling of footballing Schadenfreude than anything else.
    It still makes me laugh thinking about it now.
    The Arsenal crowd singing Man USA just before Scholes missed did it for me. hahaha.

  61. Big Raddy says:

    I was also at the Scouse robbery. A superb weekend ruined by a bent ref and linesman. Liverpool are the only team to play with two goalkeepers simultaneously.

  62. chas says:

    Ralphie’s penalty and celebration made me laugh watching these again.

  63. chas says:

    Apologies for putting bsr on your screens. But it was a good pen.

  64. evonne says:

    hm….I hope you are right guys and the gorgeous Spud was just winding me up

    Are you furious about the West Ham game being called off? I am

  65. Big Raddy says:

    evonne. I am in Italy over Xmas and out of internet and TV range so I am delighted. ALso means I won’t feel guilty about missing a pre-match.

    Which reminds me I am away for Newcastle. Any volunteers?

  66. chas says:

    I’m quite happy, Evonne.
    I had a great invite for Boxing Day which I’d had to turn down.
    Now I can go. :)

  67. RockyLives says:

    Beautiful pic Chas.
    Paddy’s last ever kick for the Arse.

  68. Gooner In Exile says:

    Raddy love the post, you are so right, so many lows as proven by comments today.

    My personal “i was there low” was at Wembley, Arsenal v Luton League Cup Final, and my “I’m glad I wasn’t there” was Nayim from the halfway line, mainly because that’s all I heard for the next year from Spudders.

    Weirdly both were cup finals where we were trying to retain the title, and against apparently lesser teams than we had faced to win them in the first place.

  69. Ant says:

    That’s the Romford Pele’s phone.. gotta be..
    “ere Dennis take a picture of me with the cup please Sir!”

  70. Red Arse says:

    Hi Chas, :-)

    I’m glad my personal memory of a snapshot instant in my youth made you laugh …… I think. :D

    Re-reading it I think it accurately conveyed what I wanted to say, but your comment about “50 Shades” was a tad worrying.
    I have not read any of those rumpy pumpy books written with lashings of female kinky libido, (see what I did there?) :lol: but there was something of the unintentional soft porn penmanship about my writing.

    Worrying!! :lol:

  71. Sheep Hagger says:

    Hi
    Worry not its the end of the world tomorrow according to the Mayan calender.
    We may not see the gunners any more,,!
    13.00 tomorrow is the deadline if I type here tomorrow night u know I ok in swansea.
    Sheep

  72. Sheep Hagger says:

    Last book i read RA was blue
    Much love

  73. 20/20Vision says:

    I thought FIFA had commissioned a more equitable penalty shoot-out to settle drawn matches , something like…draw after full time you have a penalty shoot-out–all 22 players take 1 pen and the winner is awarded 1/2 a goal—you then play the 30 mins extra time and you have to have a winner( Is the Mayan calender on GMT or Mayan mean time?)

  74. Sheep Hagger says:

    Gmt.
    I better feed my sheep tomorrow morning

  75. Sheep Hagger says:

    Weird it predicted ww1 and the rise of hitler and the 2012 tsunami
    Can it predict when we are going to win a trophy,we are 40/1 to win the CL.
    I may put a fiver on that .
    Much love sheep

  76. Red Arse says:

    Shagger,

    I would leave feeding the sheep until tomorrow afternoon. :-)

  77. jnyc says:

    Not easy, but if we play as we are capable, we can take Bayern. Our players must feel like we belong playing them, and see it as a challenge.

  78. Sheep Hagger says:

    Be a hard game jync they are playing well.
    But we have missed barca and real

  79. 20/20Vision says:

    Remember the night in ’99 Nostrodamus predicted the end of the world? There were several storms stacked over london, the machine gun thunder and lightning woke me up Jeez! (he always remembered where he was when he predicted the JFK assassination ☺)

  80. Gooner In Exile says:

    The Mayan calendar didnt have leap years, so the Workd should have ended around the start of the Olympics I think.

  81. Red Arse says:

    If they keep the predictions going, GIE, they will be right one day!! :-)

  82. Red Arse says:

    Another 5 billion years??

  83. Sheep Hagger says:

    Lol
    It could be worse we could support Glasgow rangers .

  84. Big Raddy says:

    Or even worse, we could be Spuds…..

  85. Sheep Hagger says:

    Bbl got to walk the dog
    Laters
    Nadolig llawen

  86. Sheep Hagger says:

    Back who’s here

  87. Big Raddy says:

    Getting late here and Xmas shopping tomorrow.

    God nat Sheep

  88. The FA cup semi final defeat against Sunderland as Hillsborough in April 1973 was very hard cheese for me. Good for them that they saw Leeds off in the final. At the time I hated Don Revie’s side more than anything ever before or since. I ended up being very happy for the Geordies.

  89. Gooner In Exile says:

    Bayern draw i’m not fussed about, you have to be in it to win it….pundits have already written us off….nothing to lose then.

    Progressing to Quarters is surely not limit of fans aspiration? IfChelsea did it last season why not us. Home leg first get some goals don’t concede and we will be more than half way there.

  90. Good chance to reflect on past disappointments Big John but what about today’s explorer? You’ll have to do two next time.
    I’m off to Malta for a fortnight tomorrow so I’ll say Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to Arsenal and all of you at arsenal arsenal.

  91. Rasp says:

    Thanks Tony, a very Merry Christmas to you too, hopefully we’ll be 3rd by the time you return :P

  92. neamman says:

    I was also there for Swindon! I certainly expected a victory. But my biggest disappointment was Galatsary in Copenhagen. Probably because I spent a load of money flying business class from Toronto [only seat available] and had to overnight in Glasgow. I was meeting a friend who got me a tcket but he was coming from Germany..when he was late I brought a second ticket on the black market.. He arrived 10 minutes later so I gave the second ticket away.. I had lots of money those days..
    I will never forget walking back after the game.. thousands of gooners and yet there was not a sound,… just silence.

  93. neamman says:

    I DO support Rangers, they are my second team due to my Irish background.

  94. RockyLives says:

    neamann
    I was at that one too.
    Bloody miserable affair. We never really turned up and Hagi ran the show for Galatasaray.

  95. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Morning all.
    Some great stories yesterday.
    Just reading through really hoping someone volunteered a post. Sadly not. Off I go to fulfill my promise. Coffeeeee

  96. slime says:

    Happy End of the World,

    I see the clubs are getting in early to rule out any transfer business. I can’t really see much happening for us in this window apart from maybe a TH14 loan, or getting a player with contract issues ie Huntelaar, Ba, Diame. I’d like to think that things will be different in the summer though. Getting 5 of our first team squad new contracts was a great move too, although, Theo is probably going to be the key to wether we have a good TW or not, I think.

    Also, according to red tops, we have turned down £2.5m from Galatasaray for Andre Santos.

  97. LB says:

    It’s good to see Jack Rodwell, the cream of British youth, progressing so well at City.

  98. Red Arse says:

    Morning Fellars, :-)

    Having given it a lot of thought I have come to a conclusion about the worst ever defeat!

    Every time we lose it is the worst ever defeat – until the next time — I never get used to it!!

  99. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Slime
    Sheep says the End will come at 13:00.
    Cripes, I will be on the motorway to London. Might be wise to pull over for ten minutes until the moment has passed.

  100. slime says:

    RA,

    Too true! Espescially if you read the papers! Every day is End of the World day if your Arsenal fan! :lol:

    LB,

    Scott Sinclair is showing Silva, Toure, Nasri, Aguero, Tevez, Dzeko and Balotelli how to do it aswell! Unbelievable Tekkers! :)

  101. kelsey says:

    Morning all

    I think we might off load several players this Summer if not before. the penny has finally dropped that we are carrying too many players on high wages and even if their transfer value is negilable the wages saving will be substantial.

    Sagna and Walcott could go either way but I expect that issue not to be resolved until the end of the season.
    Arshavin,Chamakh,Santos,Squillacci and probably Fabianski could all go.
    Diaby we have debated several times but my gut feeling is that AW will still persevere with him this season and if unfortunately he breaks down again,his value is practically zero.
    I don’t know about rosicky. Is he on a rolling contract ?

    Will Bendtner and Denilson stay out on loan ?

    Frimpong may go out on loan,is he injured ?

    it is good to hear we have tied down 5 british players to long term contracts yet the over 30 rule seems to be different for every player.

    If TH14 does come on a short term loan he will be a morale booster for the team and great for the fans but can he still offer something concrete on the pitch.
    I have huge reservations about gervinho but he could be away for 6 weeks.
    I also think le Coq may well get more game time

    . So many questions ?

  102. slime says:

    It’s the end of the world Micky, I don’t think a Costa Coffee Service Station is going to shelter you unfortunately! :lol:

  103. Red Arse says:

    Not wanting to be too picky, but the loopy tunes who believe the world ends today, will do so at 11:11 a.m. UK time.

    So if you are driving at 11:12 Micky, you are OK.

    I grinned at your idea of pulling over until the world ending had ended! You Brits are just so neat! :lol:

  104. Gooner In Exile says:

    Morning all, Kelsey Rosicky signed a new contract last season (3 years I think).

    Bless the Spuds:

    Only the 15 victories and it has Lineker and Gazza on the front who last played for them in 90′s. Sucks to be a Spudder.

  105. Big Raddy says:

    Hope the wife gets home early from work …..

    I want to go out with a bang not a whimper :-D

  106. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Slime
    Costa works for me against practically everything the world can throw at me. Particularly those new little lemon tarts they do.

  107. Sheep Hagger says:

    It won’t happen TEOTW.
    Like UFO and ghosts all bullshix.
    Catch u all tonight I’m off to work
    SS

  108. Big Raddy says:

    My main concern is that at world’s end we will be out of the CL places and even worse below the miscreants.

  109. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Some bloke in the States has made a small fortune from selling underground shelters. Good Lad!
    Also, people have been paying large amounts for trips to some Mayan Temple to witness the end.
    I’m wondering whether they bought return tickets ROLF

  110. Big Raddy says:

    Whilst accepting that the MU tie is more attractive I am shocked at how little press we get.

    BM are top of their league by a distance, were robbed of the Cup last season and yet there is hardly any mention we have drawn them.

    I guess the press believe it is a foregone conclusion.

    I say ….. Remember Swindon

  111. Red Arse says:

    Funnily enough, Micky, because of access restrictions the trips have to be made via all inclusive package tours, with return flights included — “to see the end of the world, at the place where it was predicted”!

    I was thinking of going, but if it did not work, those little Mayan fookers would not be around to complain to. Apparently their world finished hundreds of years ago!

  112. Rasp says:

    Morning all, DidIt’s done it :P

    ….. New post …..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers

