Who is our Best Youth Player over the last 20 years?

Who is the best player to come through the Arsenal Youth Programme? Not signed as kids like Theo, Cesc and Kolo from other clubs but actually raised at THOF

We have seen some wonderful players come through in the last 20+ years (which is my time frame). On a quiet day why don’t we have a little reminisce?

First up has to be Mr Arsenal. Tony Adams: TA joined AFC as at 15 and played in the first team at 17. He was captain at 21 having already won a trophy (the League Cup ’87). He then went on to Captain the club for 14 seasons, have a statue outside the Emirates and become a true AFC hero. Was he our best homegrown?

My 2nd Fave TA goal v THFC at Wembley

Or was it Rocky Rocastle? How many players are still sung about 20 years after he left the club? Rocky joined us at 16. Played in the Double team of ’89.  Sold when GG got sick of players with any flair, but left behind unforgettable memories to those lucky enough to see him in the jersey.

My Fave Rocky Goal (WHL 1987)

Or The Merse? Paul Merson was a special talent, capable of the most delightful lob I have seen. Not pray, not strong in the tackle but graceful and intelligent. It must be said that thanks to his off-filed activities he could be frustrating as well.  Injuries, off-field problems, lack of form all hindered him yetThe Merse remained a fan’s favourite.  AFter 12 years at AFC, Mr Wenger offered Paul a 2 year contract but The Merse went to *Boro who offered twice the wages (history repeats!).

A couple of years later and Ashley Cole forced his way into the first team, taking over from club legend, Nigel Winterburn. So much has been written about Cashley but whatever your standpoint on the man’s morality and general demeanor, he is without doubt a fantastic footballer. At 31 he remains the best LB in the PL if not the World, and I wish AW had paid him the extra money -he is that good.  3 PL medals, 7 FA Cup winners medals CL winner, 93 Caps, 5 times PFA team of the Year, twice UEFA LB of the year – a wonderful career, which shows that it is not always the nice guys who come first!

Wilshere. The Great Arsenal Hope. the player future England teams will be built around, let alone  The Arsenal. Who knows what would have happened had JW not missed the season?  The future midfield squad of O-C, Wilshere, Ramsey, Song, Coquelin and Frimpong (+ any signings) is frightening. Those early YouTube clips of JW controlling games at the age of 15 were so exciting. Jack is the Real Deal. Can he keep his feet on the ground and not become another Merse? Can he fully recover from his ankle injury and not become a Diaby? If the answer is Yes, then Jack Wilshere is very likely to be cast in bronze.

I have missed out some great homegrown Youth players: Parlour, Keown, Micky T etc ( I am sure there are others). For that I apologise.

Roll me down Coopers Hill and cover me in pig fat but in my opinion our greatest Youth player over the past 20 years has been Ashley. Odious man but top quality player.

What do you think?

Written by Big Raddy

95 Responses to Who is our Best Youth Player over the last 20 years?

  1. Gooner In Exile says:

    Morning all, interesting post Raddy.

    Clever to say who was the best player for Arsenal in the last 20 years who wasrather homegrown rather than produced in the last 20 years as otherwise some of your selections would be out.

    For me it has to be Tony Adams.

  2. chas says:

    I’d go for Adams, too.
    Longevity, honours won, making the most of somewhat limited skills and a superb captain all put Adams out on top.

    Your objectivity does you credit, BR, but Cashley Hole, where’s the pig fat?

  3. Simon Gee says:

    was there a double in ’89???????

  4. Steve Umondak says:

    Ashley Cole.
    Arsene Wenger must stop losing our best talents over minor £5000 squabbles like in the Flamini case.

  5. 26may1989 says:

    Like it Raddy.

    For me, in terms of pure footballing talent, Cashley just squeaks it ahead of TA, but only just. If the period of time were extended back a bit, I’d say Liam Brady stood above both of them.

    As an Arsenal figurehead, TA and Rocky (the real one, not the Canadian AA version…) are the standouts, with Keown and Parlour following close behind.

    Does Wilshere count as truly homegrown? Wasn’t he signed from the Luton Town academy at some absurdly young age?

  6. chas says:

    Simon,
    We scored two goals at Anfield!

    Steve,
    Cashley left because he wanted to move somewhere where he didn’t feel so stupid. JT and his boys can’t even speak English properly, so they were the perfect match. Fancy meeting up in a hotel a couple of days before a big game against Manyoo. I wouldn’t p*ss on him if he was on fire.

  7. Slimgingergooner says:

    For everything other than talent, it has to be TA. For talent, it pains me to choose Cashley, however, I truly believe JW will surpass both in terms of talent, and everything else that goes with it. He has future captain written all over him and wouldn’t surprise me if he has his own statue in 30 years time. Fingers crossed!!!

  8. Red Arse says:

    Interesting Raddy, :-)

    I was a little unsure about the terms of the vote.

    When you ask who is our best home produced youth player, are you talking about;
    - outright skill, but no real first team achievements yet? (then it is Jack Wilshire);
    - impact on the club in terms of personal success and club achievements? (then it is Tony Adams);
    - or personal success mixed with classy ability – but for some other club? (then it is Cashley).

    I am discounting other potential super stars coming thru the system now.

  9. VCC says:

    BR. Wash your mouth out with soap. cashley????????

    That’s the last time I’m going to mention his name today. I despise the scum. I have a song about him that I’d love to send you.

    My vote goes to Tony Adams all day long.

  10. Red Arse says:

    26M,

    I totally agree with your late night comment regarding PHW.

    I don’t exactly despair at the dim witted ineptness of the authors of such articles, but I am despondent that so many readers seem to take the nonsense of such articles as gospel truth.

    Good shout in your 11:06, but I feel you were a bit harsh on the AA Rocky, and he speaks so well about you! How could you upset him like that? :-)

  11. 26may1989 says:

    Don’t worry RA, Rocky can take it!

    Re that PHW article, the blogosphere is of course full of trash (AA being an oasis in a sea of garbage), and I should ignore it, but once in a while I do get wound up and can’t resist posting one of my verbose ramblings.

  12. TotalArsenal says:

    Hi BR, cat amongst pigeons stuff, but I like it. :)

    Cole is a good defender but stopped developing once he left Arsenal. Under Wenger he would have become world-world class as he would have been able to develop his attacking game to the full. He could have been better than Alves at Barcelona, but he chose cash and classic football rather than the total football stuff of Arsenal.

    For me it is also Tony Adams – his combined defensive and leadership skills were second to none. A classic, true hero – a Man in Full.

    RL, Micky, thanks for your great post over the last two days. Top stuff. :) :)

  13. Gooner In Exile says:

    Steve @ 9:55

    Arsene or the much adored Dein stopped the contract?

    From memory the story at the time was that Arsene and Dein had agreed the increase but the rest of the Board would not sanction it, a week or so later he was as Chas reminds us being tapped up over breakfast by Mourinho.

    Whenever stories of Arsene refusing to spend come up I am reminded of this, how many managers would have walked at that point, I often wonder whether Arsene wishes he had.

  14. Red Arse says:

    Morning, TA :-)

    I forgot to say earlier I voted for TA!! :-) Tony that is. :-)

  15. WiganGooner says:

    Hi Raddy,

    Good fun article, it sparks some great memories.

    You forgot to mention that Cashley replaced Silvinho(or Sylvinho depending which country he was playing in at the time/passport he pretended to have).

    Nevertheless, a great article, good job :)

    WG

  16. 26may1989 says:

    Re the Cashley saga, it’s worth remembering that the Club actually agreed the full amount of Cashley’s increased salary, including the fabled £5k. What they refused to do was accept the subsequent demand for the Club to pay Cashley’s agent’s commission on top, which equated to £5k p/w of the new wage packet. They said that was for Cashley to pay – given that it was his agent (Jonathan Barnett, later banned for the tapping up scandal), that seems pretty fair to me.

  17. Gooner In Exile says:

    26 I stand corrected. And now have to rethink again.

  18. Lee.... says:

    no brain’er can only be “Tony Adams”.
    nobody even comes close………..

  19. TotalArsenal says:

    Good morning to you RA :) Is today not your treatment day?

  20. TotalArsenal says:

    After Ronald de Boer refused to talk to Liverpool fc, they have now approached his brother……Rupert :)

  21. dandan says:

    As I am limited to the last twenty years I will agree on TA: whilst remembering a long haired cockney genius with a love of the unconventional and the outrageous and the skill to perform them to the delight of the kindred spirits massed on his spiritual home, the North Bank. Along with a leprechaun of a man with the sweetest of left feet that was a whole set of golf clubs in one, controlled by a footballing brain that in today’s market would be priceless. How lucky are we to have him educating our current crop of future players.

    This is worth a read if only for Amy Lawrences view on modern fans.

    http://wearethenorthbank.com/on-the-arsenal-beat-season-press-review/

  22. 26may1989 says:

    Thanks DD, very interesting read, and you’re right to mention Amy L’s observations on the relationship between fans and clubs generally, and what made our renaissance games against Spurs, Milan, City etc so enjoyable, she’s absolutely on the button there.

    I know it’s on newsnow, so many will have seen it already, but I thought this was interesting re the implications of FFP and the apparently slow demand for RvP: http://themarblehalls.com/2012/05/22/van-persie-running-options-ffp-bites-yossi-decision-will-show-us-ambitious-plan/

  23. gainer says:

    how can you not consider fabregas who was signed as a 16 year old just like rocky was.

  24. Red Arse says:

    You have a very good memory TA, :-)

    It is and it was my Blood Unit treatment today.
    Had a 7:30 a.m. appointment and everything went well, unlike last week where nearly everything that could go wrong – did! :-(

  25. TotalArsenal says:

    Good to hear that RA – I bet before your next treatment we will have signed a new player and RvP has signed a new contract, so you will have something to take your mind off during your next ordeal! :)

    RurP, are you out there, or have you switched off for the summer period?

  26. Red Arse says:

    That was a good link DD. Thank you.

    By the way, one of your chosen Liam Brady, left us to go to Juventus at the peak of his career, and in today’s climate he would probably be labelled a ‘traitor’! Modern fans, eh?

  27. Red Arse says:

    Fingers crossed, TA, that you are right.

    It would be ironic if one of the first players to get bitten by the FFP should turn out to be Robin — on the assumption he might be considering leaving, of course.

  28. TotalArsenal says:

    Who knows RA? I am still convinced he wants to stay and negotiations are ongoing.

    His other immediate concern is fighting off a sporting challenge by Huntelaar, the top-scorer in the German League this season. Van Marwijk is unlikely to play them both upfront and Huntelaar might fit his system better (he is better in the air than RvP for example).

  29. dandan says:

    .26 My own opinion is that RVP will go nowhere this year, he is in the last year of his contract and will probably re-sign a one year contract: for signing on fee plus increased contract: he will then have at years end the options if he wants, to either ask us or any alternative suitor for another substantial fee/salary in lieu of transfer fee.
    FFP will IMHO along with the financial crisis across Europe, bring sanity to boardrooms Europe wide, the number of players released this year by the professional clubs will be large and the salary trends probably downwards.
    Which is why the fans cry’s for quick action on signings is likely to fall on deaf ears, as reality gets through to players and agents alike.

  30. Gooner In Exile says:

    So Jack has had his surgery today.

    Apparently surgeon has said went well and Jack out for 2-3 months.

    Am I the only one concerned?

  31. In answer to your well posed question Big Randy it’s TA06 for me , probably the last significant one club man we’ll ever see.

    GiE – concerned but not surprised, whenever did any of our long term injuries ever come back within even the region of the return date promised.

    General rule of thumb, double the recovery time quoted, then add three weeks then wait another month before we see them play again.

  32. Big Raddy says:

    Just another of the throwaway posts which starts from a simple idea, gets written in half an hour and with a bit of Rasp jiggery pokery gets published.

    What is surprising is just how few players come through the ranks and achieve success at Arsenal.

    I think Cashley has been the most consistent LB in world football for almost a decade. Nothing flash like Carlos or Alves – you don’t tend to notice him but take for example his brilliant block in Munich over the weekend. How many FB’s are aware enough to cover like Ash?

    TA. I agree he should have stayed at Arsenal but sadly the man is a greedy fool (just ask Cheryl),

  33. RockyLives says:

    Tony Adams for me BR

    Although Rocky would be a close second for sheer ability.

    And if we wound the clock back further it would have to be the Sainted Liam.

    Good point about Brady’s departure to Italy. The man is an Arsenal god, up there in the pantheon with Dennis and Charlie, but if his career had played out in modern times half the fan base would hate him.

  34. TERRY MANCINI HAIR TRANSPLANT says:

    Thank you Raddy. Like most it has to be Tony Adams, legend is to small a word for him. I still get a lump in my throat when i think of Rocky Rocastle though.

    I grew up on Liam Brady. Anyone to young to witness the great Irishman missed a treat. As a kid Watching his wavy runs in the mid seventies turned me football crazy. In fact about 10 years ago Brady almost turned me gay. I saw him waiting for a train at Winchmore Hill Station and fawned over him like a love struck teenager. He smiled at me and at that point i would have done any thing for “The King of Highbury”.

  35. goonermichael says:

    Always thought you were a bit dodgy Terry. Brady is a grear footbeller but no oil painting

  36. TERRY MANCINI HAIR TRANSPLANT says:

    gm, its whats on the inside that counts. hahahaha

  37. goonermichael says:

    Way to much info Terry. :)

  38. Big Raddy says:

    THMT. I grew up on a whole team of Arsenal homegrowns. Charlie George, Geordie Armstrong, Peter Simpson, Pat Rice, Ray Kennedy, John Radford, etc etc but like others I rate Liam Brady as our best so far in my football lifetime.

  39. Big Raddy says:

    GM. Like you wouldn’t do the same for TH or DB10 ;-)

  40. TERRY MANCINI HAIR TRANSPLANT says:

    Raddy, my first game was in 1970/71 when my dad took me. We beat Derby 2-0. Been 6 I dont remember a thing about the game, just the crowd and atmosphere.

    I would watch out if i was you Raddy. GM’s got his infamous hairdresser gaydar out. Hes already outed me, so you better not give him any encouragment hahahaha.

  41. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Afternoon all.
    I’ve just voted, but think I’ve lied as I voted TA (as Best for Arsenal) rather than someone else who I actually think was the Best Player. Just couldn’t bring myself to put a Dot in the little snake’s box.

  42. RockyLives says:

    Terry
    Liam’s “wavy runs” made me smile.
    I went through a phase of trying to model my playing style on. The first problem was I was right footed, but that didn’t stop me from running along pushing the ball with the outside of my boot and trying to do all my passes with the outside.

    It didn’t really work and I had to shift back to my “natural” style, but it was fun imagining myself as the King of Highbury.

  43. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Interesting that there are so many votes for Jack. I assume this is down to a massive “potential” bias, and if that’s the case, then fair vote. However, on that basis and throwing in my own bias, I’d put The Ox at the top of the tree. For his age, he is to my mind, the most exciting prospect I’ve seen in the famous shirt.
    More than anyone else, including possible signings, he’s the one I’m most looking forward to watching develop next season.

  44. TERRY MANCINI HAIR TRANSPLANT says:

    Rocky,
    He was unbelivable to watch.He never had pace but could beat a man on a six pence. Its brilliant to see the impact he had on you, and when you see someone like Raddy putting him above the 71 players, well that says it all realy

  45. TERRY MANCINI HAIR TRANSPLANT says:

    Micky, the future prospect of Jack and Ox has me salivating like a dog chasing a jogger. 2 incredible prospects.

  46. goonerjake says:

    Hey BR,

    I am trying…. im really trying ….. to give respect to a fellow gooner :)
    Well lets see I appreciate your view however I respectfully disagree.

    Ashley Cole is scum…. good left back but scum….. he is not fit to clean Tony Adams boots…now theirs a thought as a junior I wonder if he ever did.

    And I know we are talking about home grown talent here but Ashley is not a patch on the great Winterburn. Now he was a great left back. I always think Ashleyhas been fortunate (like Winterburn i agree) to be a member of very very good defences.

    My pick for best player to come through the ranks is………? I dont know but one thing I do know its not Cashley Hole.

    Respectfully yours

    goonerjake

  47. Big Raddy says:

    Micky O-C isn’t homegrown otherwise I would have included Fabregas etc.

    THMT. GM’s Gaydar may twitch but I am secure in my sexuality. (I think)

    My fave Liam moment: Surprisingly not only was he playing for Inter but also he was playing at WHL.

    It was Ossie Ardiles Testimonial (don’t ask) and not only was Liam playing but so was Maradona and Hoddle. The interplay between The Hand of God and Glenn was fantastic to see. but every time Liam touched the ball he got booed from every section of the Shithole. Then in the second half Liam picked up the ball, slalomed his way through a packed Spurs defence and beat the keeper from 25 yards with one of his trademark curlers. It was a goal of genius. Maradona clapped and so did the entire Spurs team. Silence reigned on the terraces apart from the few thousand Gooners who had come to see Our Liam .

    The man was just fantastic, and it was a sadness he came back to English football so late in his career when his body could no longer translate the brilliance of his football brain..

  48. MickyDidIt89 says:

    BR,
    Ooops!
    Sorry, I did rather fly through two posts and two days of comments.

  49. Big Raddy says:

    GoonerJAke. GJ if I may be so bold.

    I realise Ashley as a man is as unpleasant as warts in your private areas but he is a brilliant player.

    He is head and shoulders above Nigel, as any non-AFC fan will testify

  50. Big Raddy says:

    NO problem Didit. I am surprised you are not out on your farm shooting rabbits and warning campers to “Get Orf Moy Larnd”

  51. MickyDidIt89 says:

    BR,
    I’m just back from a two day hike/camp across Dartmoor, and am way too tired shoot and shout at bloody ramblers! Oh bugger that’s me :-(

  52. Illybongani says:

    Someone (Rocky?) mentioned Chippy moving to Italy today would make him somewhat of a hate figure at the club. If my memory serves me right although we were totally gutted to lose him we kinda understood because we were shit and he deserved better. Frank Stapleton who left at the same time was the Nasri of his time and derided because the perception was that he left just for the money to go to ManUre. In retrospect he deserved better as well and you can’t really blame him either…a bit like if Little Jack left for Citeh???

  53. RockyLives says:

    Hello Illy
    Interesting distinction there between Liam and Big Frank. It really does parallel the Cesc-Na$ri situation, doesn’t it?

    I know many people are angry with Fabregas but I will always think fondly of him – tinged with regret for the sadness he’ll feel as we go on to lift many trophies in the years ahead with him knowing deep down that he should have been part of it all :)

  54. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Illy,
    I think you are right about Chippy, but my biggest concern over Jack is that he leaves for the bars and clubs of the West End.

  55. RockyLives says:

    Micky
    I’m curious why there have been a few comments about Jack’s character.
    Is he really a tosser?
    I’m afraid I’ve already written off Frimpong as ‘not the sharpest tool in the box’ based on his somewhat embarrassing tweets and comments.

  56. Irishgunner says:

    “Arsenal Football Club will be releasing seven players at the end of their contracts on June 30.

    Professionals Manuel Almunia, George Brislen-Hall, Gavin Hoyte, Sean McDermott, Rhys Murphy, together with Scholars James Campbell and Jeffrey Monakana will all be released on July 1 and are therefore free to join other clubs from this point. ”

    Surprised to see Sean McDermott go, as far as I know, we paid £1million for him at a very young age. He was born in Norway but plays for Rep.Ireland – big things were expected of him. About time Gavin Hoyte was sent packing.

    Rhys Murphy promised good things too didn’t he?

  57. Irishgunner says:

    Jamie Sanderson ‏@YoungGunsBlog
    Arsenal’s Wellington Silva has broken his ankle at loan club Alcoyano. Sad. He had begun to settle in Spain: 2 goals in 12 games.

  58. MickyDidIt89 says:

    On Cesc,
    If I were on Arsenals books as a sixteen year old Gooner, but was lifted over to Barca, I know I’d always want to “come home”, as like it or not, my blood is oozing with finest Arsenal DNA.
    On another note, I think gentlemen with plucked eyebrows look so much better in a Barca shirt than the red and white of Arsenal.

  59. Gooner In Exile says:

    Micky i’m pretty sure young Jack is teetotal, well at least he was when he first broke through into the senior team, maybe he has a taste for it now I don’t know.

    That said whenever i see the young players tweets most are not talking about going to bars/clubs, but to Nandos for their dinner and then off to the cinema (altho i can’t say i approve of their film choices!)

  60. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Rocky,
    I don’t know about the “tosser” tag and don’t follow twitter tweets, but I know that he certainly used to like a night club. Whether that’s still true, I’m not sure.

  61. MickyDidIt89 says:

    GiE,
    We have a problem. Hope I’m wrong.

  62. Irishgunner says:

    Jack was pictured a lot out on the town but since he became a father all that seems to have stopped – of course, it could be the injury too.

  63. Illybongani says:

    I think fatherhood will go some way to keeping Jack on the straight and narrow…it happens to the best of us!

  64. MickyDidIt89 says:

    Illy,
    Hope he’s married to a right old nagger :-)

  65. Illybongani says:

    …and FIFA 14, 15, 16 on the Playstation hopefully

  66. Illybongani says:

    Drogba for Arsenal anyone?

  67. TERRY MANCINI HAIR TRANSPLANT says:

    Theres no problem with Jack Wilshere. Hes a young lad who may like a drink, a good time girl, and even the odd scrape or two, so what? I dont expect anybody to be a saint, certainly not a young boy whos just finding his feet in life. I like players with a dark side, they tend to be fighters and winners.

  68. Irishgunner says:

    I’d take Drogba in a heartbeat – drama queen but a great player

  69. Illybongani says:

    Perm any one (or two) from Van Persie, Poldolski and Drogba. Slightly better than a RVP, Chamakh and Park???

  70. RockyLives says:

    I’d take Drog, even at 34… but he’s off to a big payday in China or somewhere (and an easy life).

  71. chas says:

    I don’t think there have been a few comments about Jack being a tosser. Well there have, but all from GM who took umbrage with a Jack tweet about Terry deserving it after his great career.

    Personally I think GM’s twatdar is slightly out of kilter. After all, it’s not like him to take a huge, gigantic dislike to someone, is it? :)

    I think Drogba’s over the hill, hence his desire to take it easy in China on an even bigger contract than he’s on at the moment.

  72. RockyLives says:

    Chas
    I thought someone else said they had met Jack and were none too impressed (but maybe that was GM too).

  73. SharkeySure'sGhost says:

    Yep Chas, that’d be completely out of character for GM…oh and Chary if truth be told.

    Me…I don’t hate anyone…there’s people I try my hardest to forget exist, but nothing worse than that.

    I sometimes wonder if its a bit like the ‘wishing them dead’ without the Ill feeling that would involve, or the heartache for their families. I dont wanna hear about them or from them, just want them to piss off to another world which I’m not part of.

  74. Big Raddy says:

    SS. Nicely put

  75. SharkeySure'sGhost says:

    There’s only one Tony Adams.

    Yeah there’s a little shitbag down the road who’s been the best LB in world football for going on ten years now…but its just not enough.

  76. Gooner In Exile says:

    Wow Almunia kept 70 clean sheets in 175 appearances! And people tell me we can’t defend…..

  77. goonerjake says:

    DD GJ is fine

  78. SharkeySure'sGhost says:

    Cheers Randy,

    Even writing the ‘h’ word is a deviation for me. I took a conscious decision some years ago to stop using. Like most people do I’d claim to ‘h***’ the stupidest of things, ie foods I didn’t like, people I’d never met etc.

    I just feel that carrying hatred around with you isn’t healthy.

    I can gorge on a large helping of schadenfreude though. The balloons and party poppers are out, beers and strippers are ordered. Happy days

  79. Gooner In Exile says:

    I reserve my hatred for the baseball cap wearing little upstart from Stoke.

  80. SharkeySure'sGhost says:

    Lol GiE.

    Its like when Arsenal concede a goal …and the old line about ‘same old problems’ like no other team ever concedes a goal.

    Laughably that line is still trotted out even if we have say 5 clean sheets out of the last 7.

  81. goonermichael says:

    I don’t like jack’s personailty. I think he’s a wanker. My son knows someone who was at school with him and I’ve heard various bits that he’s a dickhead and so is his dad. As long as he’s with us and giving his all I’ll support him and want him to do well (for England too) i think at some point he’ll piss off for money and glory if we can’t give it to him. Don’t like cesc either.

    BTW
    The reason all the young players tweet about nando’s is because the get a card that get’s everything free as long as they publicise it.

  82. Big Raddy says:

    I have never been into a Nando’s. Is it worth a tweet?

  83. Gooner In Exile says:

    Good rumours:

    Interesting stuff:

    And maybe we’ve been harsh on Pong:

    Wind your neck in:

  84. Gooner In Exile says:

    Raddy, these youngsters obviously need big protein intake so Nandos makes sense, but on their money you kind of wish they’d go to some decent restaurants.

  85. Gooner In Exile says:

    Final twitter rumour:

    That one makes more sense than M’Villa as none of us have mentioned him or probably know him….Oz and Micky get scouting.

  86. chas says:

    “As an Arsenal fan I would be happy if he stayed in London to help Arsenal win titles.”

    Hardly the same thing.

  87. Gooner In Exile says:

    It’s the “as an Arsenal fan” that winds me up. :(

  88. chas says:

    I’ve found another translation (might still wind you up though!)

    “As a fan of Arsenal, nothing would make me happier if he became the first captain to lift a trophy in eight or however many years it is for them,” Fabregas said.

    http://www.london24.com/sport/arsenal/former_arsenal_man_fabregas_talks_about_barca_targets_van_persie_and_bale_1_1384752

  89. Gooner In Exile says:

    Not helping Chas ;)

  90. Big Raddy says:

    We disagree about our Spanish ex-Captain. Can we call it the Brady Syndrome?

    Why shouldn’t he wish his ex-team mates well? After all, what idid Barca win this season? (apart from the World Club Champs which is Mickey Mouse :-) )

  91. Big Raddy says:

    Why would the German Champs want NB?

    Next we will read that Denilson is being targeted by Real Madrid, and Squillaci by Barca.

  92. LB says:

    When Tone stepped up to collect the FA cup I was there, I was there.

    One Tony Adams, there’s only one Tony Adams, one Tony Adams.

    No brainer really.

  93. Morning all

    New Post ……………

  94. Heathrow Cabs London Airport Transfer Gatwick Taxi Cars…

    [...]Who is our Best Youth Player over the last 20 years? « Arsenal Arsenal[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

