A Merry Gooner Christmas

We don’t have a football post for today, but would like to take the opportunity to spread some good will and thank our gooner friends across the globe and wish you all a Very Merry Christmas

COYRRG

32 Responses to A Merry Gooner Christmas

  1. Räsp says:

    Merry Christmas everyone …. I hope none of you are eating duck ;)

  2. Norfolk Gooner says:

    Merry Christmas to all AAers.

  3. kelsey says:

    A Merry Xmas to one and all.

  4. dandan says:

    Merry Christmas to all you keyboard warriors around the globe, may you and your families have the Christmas you would wish for.

  5. Manthan says:

    Merry Xmas to everyone…

  6. Merry Xmas to you and your family, and a Happy New Year to Arsenal fans everyhere, especially those who don’t leave The Emirates 10 mins. before the end of a game.

  7. GunnerN5 says:

    On this day in 1948 I saw my first Christmas Day game at Highbury we drew with Derby County 3-3 – I forget who scored our goals. There were about 30 from our family all under the clock after the game we all walked up Avenell Road to my Uncle George’s house and had Christmas dinner – cooked on a wood burning stove. Us kids were out back in the scullery (freezing cold as I remember) where we were allowed to make a mess and a noise.

    Boy how time flies past that was a mere 65 years ago…..and the majority of the 30 are no longer with us

  8. Charybdis1966 says:

    Merry Xmas everyone, from a gooner stranded Tenerife thanks to the Gatwick cancellations 😕

  9. Big Raddy says:

    Merry Xmas.

    We had our celebrations yesterday – weird folk these Scandi’s! – and so today is recuperation and the eating of leftovers. Then out for a brisk walk around the harbour.

    Followed by another viewing of the Double 97/8 DVD

    Stay warm …..

  10. Big Raddy says:

    Chary :-( Better than being stranded at Gatwick.

  11. evonne says:

    Best seasonal greetings to all!!

    Raddy – we, the Poles also celebrate on 24th, it is the biggest day in our calendar.
    GN5 – they played on 25th in those days?! And some say ‘good old days’

    Chary – you lucky devil, it is dismal here, stay where you are

  12. Charybdis1966 says:

    Yes, it could’ve been worse Radders.

    Evonne, I was supposed to have got home last night, now I can’t get a flight tlll Friday. I’m fetting bored of blue skies and sunshine.

  13. GunnerN5 says:

    Raddy my wife and myself have visited Copenhagen on two occasions the second being the start of a Baltic cruise. We stayed in the Palace Hotel opposite Tivoli Gardens. The next morning we were taken on an enjoyable canal tour and then we had lunch in an outdoor cafe. In the evening we were fortunate enough to discover that there was a Jazz festival in the gardens so we found a restaurant overlooking the festival and 12 of us had a wonderful meal complemented by some fantastic music – great memories.

    Oh I almost forgot that on the first evening about 6 of us men went on a walk around and found some lovely little pubs at the first pub I introduced them to single Malt Scotch – then we spent
    at different pubs sampling different single malts.

    I can taste them now………………

  14. GunnerN5 says:

    Off to my son’s house now I’m the designated cook – I’ll cook with some wine – and may even put some in the food……………

  15. GunnerN5 says:

    Evonne for the fans it was fantastic to be able to watch a game on Christmas Day, especially the men because as I mentioned earlier Christmas dinner typically followed the game. It always felt like it was the natural thing to do.

    I’m using a Gordon Ramsey recipe today – so fingers crossed, wine glasses clinking, and everything will turn out rosy.

    Busy day tomorrow 3 games to watch..

    Hull – Man U at 7:45am
    West Ham – Arsenal at 10:00am
    Man C – Liverpool at 12:30 pm.

    Cheers to all AA’ers around the world.

  16. arnie says:

    Merry Christmas everyone!!!!! :D :D :D

  17. jnyc says:

    Merry Christmas to all

    :-)

  18. Gööner In Exile says:

    Season greetings and good tidings to all.

  19. Vinay says:

    Merry Christmas to one and all and may the festive cheer bring in joy to The Arsenal to.

  20. dhakka09 says:

    Thank You AA. Merry Christmas to you all too. May Santa bring shiny trophies in coming days :)

  21. Kgööner says:

    happy holidays to everyone here on AA – those who sneak a read with no comment and those who do comment from all across the globe.
    Happy Holidays to all the authors.
    Warm greetings from Kenya.

  22. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    It’s Boxing Day, & it’s going to be on @ the old Richmond Paddock then Boleyn Ground later. I love this time of the year.

  23. goonermichael says:

    Merry Christmas everyone xx

  24. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All

    Time to Rise & Shine. We have a game today so we need to be fully alert and fit for fight.

  25. kelsey says:

    Moprning Raddy

    I have a feeling Ozil ,Arteta and Giroud will be relaced by Flamini,Bedtner and Cazorla today

  26. Big Raddy says:

    morning kelsey.

    I am not so sure but you will know my thoughts at 09.30!

  27. Manthan says:

    morning everyone,
    Yesterday for the first time I celebrated chirstmas with wine and Plum cake… I must say it was yummy tough I hate wine but having wine with plum cake was just awesome..

  28. Big Raddy says:

    Oh Manthan. What you need is someone to teach you about wines and give you the opportunity to taste the vast differences between them. If you are lucky enough to find this person you will have a life-long passion for the beautiful drink.

    As to plum cake – I brought one back from my recent UK trip. My Danish family thought it was inedible!!

  29. Manthan says:

    BR, I agree people here love wines specially females.. Problem here is you take any wine costly or cheap taste never differs :D.. BUT I would like to taste more variety of win.. I always go for whisky or beer.. Beer specially when arsenal is playing.. .Tough I will miss today’s match due to work looking forward to your Pre-Match report :)

  30. Morning all

    Sorry I missed the chance yesterday to wish you all a Merry Christmas, hope everyone’s day was fun filled.

    My house is full of my children, their partners and a beautiful granddaughter. Lucky me ;)

    I’m looking forward to seeing how Podolski gets used today and whether with him on the pitch, Ozil finds his mojo. Theo seemed to be underused the other night although whenever the ball did go out to him there were always three City players denying him space.

    Wish for the day, we find our scoring boots and City dent Liverpools goal difference.

  31. Rasp says:

    Morning everyone -peaches, Raddy, Manthan :P

    Hope everyone had a great day yesterday – and The Arsenal have an equally good one today!

  32. Rasp says:

    Ok, that’s enough eating, drinking and making merry – back to the serious business…….

    …… New post …….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers

