An Open Letter To People Who Write Open Letters to Arsenal

Dear Angry of Internetville,

Yes, we know you’re frustrated.

It would have been good to have won the Carling Cup.

Knocking Manchester United out of the FA Cup would have been very satisfying.

It would have been excellent to have beaten Barcelona and progressed to the quarter finals of the Champions League.

Some trophies over the past five years might also have been nice.

Maybe some additional world class signings during that time would have helped too.

But none of those things happened and we are where we are.

By all means use the Blogosphere as a forum to discuss the merits and shortcomings of our players and our manager.

But please stop writing Open Letters to Mr Wenger, Mr Gazidis, the Board of Directors of Arsenal FC or all three combined.

THEY’RE NOT LISTENING.

THEY DON’T READ THEM.

AND RIGHT NOW THEY’RE TRYING TO WIN A CHAMPIONSHIP TITLE.

Of course, you already know they’re not listening, but it doesn’t stop you posting your Open Letter on the internet. So why do you do it?

Isn’t it just a way of trying to make yourself seem important?

But I’m sorry to have to inform you that your view is just as unimportant as mine, my eight-year-old son’s, the bloke with smelly feet who sits behind me at The Grove’s and every other supporter’s.

We are all amateurs. The professionals, thankfully, are the ones running our club and the ones who have performed the greatest miracle in modern football by keeping us seriously competitive while moving to a new stadium that will guarantee our future long after the Chelseas and Manchester Citys have gone into post-sugar daddy decline.

Yours truly,

RockyLives

154 Responses to An Open Letter To People Who Write Open Letters to Arsenal

  1. Gooner in Exile says:

    Fan bloody tastic

  2. Aha Raddy, there you are ;)

  3. I don’t mind Arsenal not taking any notice of open letters about how the manager could do his job differently but I do mind that they don’t respond at all to any suggestions.

    For example. There’s a fantastic montage of video footage that features the clock counting down that’s displayed on the screens at the Emirates before the game. Only supporters that go to games will get to see it, so I wrote to Arse.com and suggested that they should periodically stick it on their page so that all supporters saw it. We all moan about the Wonder of You but actually this video is quite stirring stuff.

    In reality I wanted to nick it to show everyone on the blog but they ignored me so ………

  4. Brigham says:

    I love that clock montage video and it is one of the better pre game ideas that Arsenal have had in recent times.

    What time are you lot getting the Tavern on Saturday as I am thinking of joining you. I will be the one with a 71 Cup Final shirt on! ;-)

  5. xx says:

    Actually the pr team at Arsenal will monitor blogs its part of what they do.

    That’s not to say they take action but they monitor what people say and the general feelings of supporters

  6. 26may1989 says:

    Peaches, why the Clock wasn’t installed in the new stadium in the first place, and why the club chose to name the stadium by colour sectors, remain a mystery. At least Gazidis realised when he joined the need to try to give the place a bit of character and make it work with fans’ feelings.

  7. Evonne says:

    xx – how do you know that? Most interesting

  8. Big Raddy says:

    Arsenal have a Facebook page with over 5 million “friends”, if they replied to each and every email (which would only be polite) they would have to open an entirely new department with at least 10 full time staff. Add in the cost of the running of an office and the total cost of replying to fans would be at most £500,000.

    Not too expensive, and could come out of the pool of money which would have been put aside for win-bonusses!!

    I will write to the Club and suggest it. ;-)

  9. simon says:

    A lone sane voice amidst the sea of sh1te (and crying like little girls!) :-)

  10. Evonne says:

    Rocky – thanks, I like your to-the-point style. Sadly, you are right, there are many that write letters and silly little petitions to the Board requesting that AW be replaced.

  11. Evonne says:

    Simon – oi, nothing wrong with crying litte girls. Every time we lose I cry, so….

  12. GunnerPete says:

    Good article and very important point you made. In a nutshell, the board and management do not listen to AFc supporters unless cornered at shareholders meetings. Even then ‘crapspeak’ is the order of the day.

    Open letters never help, in fact they only serve the anti Gunner press, giving them yet another angle to hit us with. They cant wait for us to play Jens in an important match so they can blast Arsene when he drops another one. Mind you I think its shocking that we played Aliadiere in the reserves in place of one of our regulars.

    As for the rest of this season of forgetable, injury ridden failures, I still pray for a miracle knowing that without our only two class defenders out still (Vermy & Djourou ) our chances will depend on others losing more than us….and they have real squads.

  13. Rasp says:

    Brigham, we will be settling on a meeting time in the next few days and it would be great to put a face to the writing style :P

  14. Rasp says:

    Morning all,

    Another classic Rocky post. The underlying message in all our articles lately has been this: stop moaning, predicting failure, dissing the players, wasting time trying to second guess the manager – we have a title to win!

  15. Minas says:

    People posting long response here don’t know that they are just writing another ‘open letter’. precision is ASSET

  16. 26may1989 says:

    Rasp @10.11: Hear hear, 100% agree!

    Nice post Rocky by the way.

  17. Red Arse says:

    Minas,

    Short and to the point. Only problem is, I don’t know what your point is!

  18. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rocky, :-)

    You speak for many of us!

    The postive side of blogging outrageous ‘open letters’ is that it provides a safety valve for some fans with volcanic temperaments.

    Peaches, I understand why you would like a reponse or an explanation from the club to some of our pressing concerns.

    It would be an easy PR win for the club to have much closer links to the AST and funnel questions (see yesterday) and answers through them.

    This would filter out some of the nuttier elements (see everyday on the blogs) who call themselves supporters.

  19. Red Arse says:

    MickeyK,

    Your comments seem to carry symptoms of underlying stress. Cheer up; you support the best club in the world.

  20. mickydidit89 says:

    I support anyone who supports RockyLives.

  21. Brigham says:

    Rasp, your 10:19. Thanks and will keep an eye out for timings. Would be good to meet up with you all and share a few beers and banter pre match.

  22. mickydidit89 says:

    Strewth. Guess what colour our 1950 Cup Final shirt was? Orange! Must have been playing Blackpool and we went in disguise. Its on the Toffs.com site under Arsenal Retro shirts.

  23. mickydidit89 says:

    Brigham,
    If middle aged blokes like me are going to wear colours, then its ’71 or nothing (home or away) in my book.

  24. Great post! Its good to hear another voice of sanity amongst the madness.

    WG

  25. Brigham says:

    @ mickydidit89. Totally with you on the colours for middle aged blokes. I am almost 51 and the only Gooner top I really wear is the 71 Cup Final yellow top.

  26. Gooner in Exile says:

    Hmmm blog isn’t adding my comments?

  27. Gooner in Exile says:

    Except that one 2 lost to the ether :X

  28. Carlito11 says:

    Morning all!
    Graeme- just a a peek at Wigan Gunner- good work! I have a feeling you’ll like it here! :-)
    Rocky, thanks for the post- are you referencing a cetain MP? If so, the Arseblog parody is also a thing of joy!
    Some positives from me on this wretched interlull… http://www.interlull.com
    1. JW looks the man for England and should be even more confident when he returns
    2. RvP scored in both his games for Holland- having not scored for us recently, he should be back on form now
    3. Cesc and Song are not only back in training but apparently “beat” Ramsey and Diaby in training yesterday
    4. Good vibes have been restored for all (except our poor little Russian who was attacked by former players and the Russian media for being ineffectual against Armenia)
    5. Saturday’s match kicks off late meaning we can all have a proper drink beforehand and BRING THE NOISE!!!
    Only 4 days left until the world starts spinning again ;-)

  29. hec says:

    So what you are saying is the management of this company AFC does not listen to a word its customers (us,the fans)say ,write or think , so you must be saying we will be customers of ths company irrespective of the way we get treated , yes suppose you must be right ,thats why we are all still around and that is why ,for example Dennilson is still there and probably 90% of us have been saying get rid for at least three years, your right its their club not ours the fans anymore.

  30. goonerwife says:

    carlito, im pretty sure that VanPersie scored in our last game against west brom. The mind plays tricks. Everyones saying that arsenal sucks that even our fans cant keep it straight.

  31. dandan says:

    HEC when was it ever the fans club? It is an entertainment company and like all entertainment you don’t have to watch it. I doubt your seat will remain empty long should you choose to vacate it.

    Therefor the company must be doing something right.

  32. Carlito11 says:

    Goonerwife- you could well be right- the WestBrom game unfortunately completely passed me by as I had to deal with some family matters that made football suddenly appear unimportant! I really must try and find some highlights of the game as that’s the second time I’ve made an assertion which that game disproved! :-)

  33. GiE – what have you been up to? just found two of your comments in spam, I have no idea why but I’ve let them out and I’ll go back and alter the time on them

  34. Gooner in Exile says:

    I’m sure I wrote a comment it seems to have disappeared into the ether, or modsville I’m pretty sure it was clean but iPhone may have reinterpreted it for me.

  35. Gooner in Exile says:

    Micky I refute that and go for Anfield 88 yellow and blue.

    Brigham my train arrives at Liv St at 4pm so a quick bus/tube to Finsbury Park should be there by about 4:30.

  36. Gooner in Exile says:

    Thanks peaches….maybe it didn’t like my talking of numbers or a different IP? Who knows…..

    At least I’m not outside headmistresses office anymore :)

  37. GiE – some of us will be well-oiled by 4.30, you won’t be wanting a sensible discussion will you?

  38. Brigham says:

    GIE, that does not leave you much ‘down’ time mate. I am travelling up from Hampshire and intending to arrive at Waterloo around 13:10 and then head over to Arsenal.

    Being ex RN, I enjoy a couple of pre-match warmers!

  39. mickydidit89 says:

    Oh bloody ‘eck. Reading last comments, and I have just discovered its a 5:30 ko. Was just about to book train leaving Devon 10am return 7pm!!! Oh well, no post match bevvies for me. On the bright side, we can be celebrating Utd, Chav and Spud losses before ko. Always a silver lining if you look hard enough.

  40. Howdo Carlito11

    I’ve often read this blog in my daily trot about, but never before thought to comment. However since I started my own blog last year I realised that its what we (as writers) do it for, the interaction with sensible (and sometimes not so sensible) like minded individuals who all share a mutual passion…

    ..and now I’ve made it sound all sordid and just a bit wierd…sorry!
    :)

    WG

  41. 26may1989 says:

    Hec

    As Rocky said, we should “use the Blogosphere as a forum to discuss the merits and shortcomings of our players and our manager” but open letters to Wenger, Gazidis and the Board are a bit of a waste of time.

    We all have views about players – I happen not to agree with you about Denilson (I must know the remaining 10%, since I don’t hear people being quite as dismissive of him as you are). My bugbear in the current squad is Diaby. But, and here’s the relevant point, before this season I had written off Djourou as being both chronically injury prone and positionally weak. And I wasn’t alone in holding those views (though there were some like our Gnarley who maintained he was quality before this year). But Djourou’s metamorphosis this season into a key player has converted virtually everyone, me included. Shows what fans know and don’t know. The same has happened previously with Song, Walcott and Flamini.

    So when it comes to your views of players, blow off some steam (as I often do about Diaby) and then relax, the truth is neither you nor I, nor any other fan really knows enough to make the real decisions. That’s what managers are for, and if we believe in their judgment (as I do with Wenger) ultimately that’s enough.

  42. Red Arse says:

    Graeme,

    Now you’ve got me worried. I did not find your comment in the least sordid or wierd.

    I suppose I am just so pure in thought! :-)

    You have whetted my curiosity, so where can I find your blog? :-)

  43. Rasp says:

    Hi Graeme,

    I thought for a minute we had William Gallas on here until I clicked your link. I’ll get the admin dept to add your site to the Blog Roll.

    I must say, the words Wigan and gooner are not normally found side by side – are you a born and bred Wiganner (?) who happens to appreciate Wengerball or is their a deeper reason for your allegiance?

  44. Hi Graeme Rawlings – don’t worry, we have much weirder than your comment on here …….. more than often :)

    I had a read of your blog too and well done, we all write about Arsenal for the same reason I reckon – the need to share our passion whether we’re happy or sad at the time.

  45. Red Arse – click on his name, any blue names will often lead you to another blog.

  46. Red Arse says:

    Oi 26,

    Leave my Diaby alone! He will prove you all wrong next season. :-)

    As for Denilson, I remain very unconvinced.

    Now we have shown Hec it’s OK to disagree among ourselves on the blogs, but also how fatuous it would be to expect Arsene to listen to hundreds of thousands of fans, all with different opinions about the relative merits or otherwise of every player.

    A total impossibility, and childish to imagine it could be otherwise.

  47. Red Arse says:

    Thanks Peaches :-)

  48. Sammy says:

    “By all means use the Blogosphere as a forum to discuss the merits and shortcomings of our players and our manager.”

    Did it occur to you that “open letters” may one of the method of doing the above? Of course nobody is deluded to think that people who matters actually read these open letters. But would the points being made be any less valid if people write them in the form of “open letters” or even as “poems”?

  49. Afternoon all, cracking read Rocky – pithy and pitch perfect – I too laugh whenever I see a moaning article headed up “An open letter to…”; yeah as if the intended recipient will fall over himself to read it PDQ because it’s headed up “An open letter”.

    If we’re suggesting times for a pre match session on Saturday I’d hope to be there for around 3.45 to 4pm.

    Off topic but I’m keeping a close eye on the WC cricket S/F – an India loss to the hated rivals leaves me as distraught as an Arsenal loss.

  50. Rasp says:

    Hi Sammy,

    I think the problem is that the ‘open letter format’ often appears to be lecturing the reader (similar to those who shout by writing everything in capitals). There may also be an element of attempting to recruit vigilantes.

    One thing they all have in common is that the writer obviously feels that their view is that important that they are nailing their petition to the door of the boardroom.

    I agree we all express ourselves in different ways, its just that open letters are a bit schoolboy and are less likely to be effective and will mostly make the writer look like a bit of a plonker.

  51. Agreed Raspers, you can almost see Del boy saying it now….”You little plonker!”

    You’re right to say it may seem like a valid format of protest sammy,but the whole timbre of “open letter to” kills off any credibility when I see it.

  52. Rasp says:

    Afternoon chary, I’m not sure I’ll be able to see you at the rub-a-dub on saturday as their will be a huge crowd of AA’ers (talking of vigilantes) in the way.

    My son tells me that there is a story going around the net that Jack is injured and out for 2 weeks. I can’t find anything but he did look totally knackered. I can’t believe Capello sent him out for the second half. Ghana were very physical and LJ was giving it back so the potential for injury was high.

  53. Hey, the more the merrier Raspers – I hope to be blotto by 4.30 as I’m rubbish at handling match nerves nowadays.

  54. Big Raddy says:

    Rasp. That JW rumour could be true- Midway through the first half JW limped out of a tackle and was rubbing his ankle for some time. Following the tackle he was much less effective an I was surprised to see him start the 2nd half.

    And what with RvP’s injury?

  55. Gooner in Exile says:

    I appreciate your concerns Peaches and Brigham so I will take a few cans onto the train to make sure I am on a par with you lot come 4:30 I might even jump in a can from Liv St to save time :)

  56. 26may1989 says:

    Off script, I just wanted to get the views of anyone here who uses a Mac. My netbook has finally conked out and I think I’ll need to replace it. Am thinking of splurging a bit on a MacBook Air, but would be pleased to have comments from anyone who’s actually made the PC-to-Mac change.

  57. 26may – you need to wait for a comment from Raddy who is a mac user and there is someone else too but I can’t remember who …………….

  58. Rasp says:

    Hi Raddy,

    All I read was that the injury wasn’t a major one and he would be assessed and there was a chance he could play against Blackburn – maybe you should write an open letter to Arsene and tell him you’re coming all the way over from Denmark this weekend and would appreciate it if he could play RvP :lol:

  59. Carlito11 says:

    26M- I use PC at work and Mac at home. Much prefer Mac usability… I have heard that the air is not as good as a proper macbook- different memory storage system means its not as good at multi-tasking.

  60. Big Raddy says:

    26. I use both but spend most of my time on the Mac. I use a Windows based laptop for Veetle and Sopcast streams as the Mac doesn’t support those formats. I am thrilled with my Mac and even my wife (who counts using her fingers) has mastered it !!

    What is wonderful about Macs is the support network. There are millions of Mac fanatics who have set up help sites, and whatever (& I mean whatever) the problem you have, there will be a thread about it.

    If I had the money, an Macbook Air would be sitting on my desk at this very moment!

    Rasp. Good idea, thoughRL assures me it AW will not read it.

  61. RockyLives says:

    Morning all (well, it is in Canada, anyway)

    In the rankings of things that irk me, “Open Letters to Arsenal” do not loom very high (certainly they’re a long way behind major irks like Cashley Cole, the Claret-Conked Caledonian and anything emanating from N17).

    It’s more that they seem so pompous and self-important that I find them a bit silly. It feels like the writer is trying to say “Look at Me! Please Look at Me!”

  62. Red Arse says:

    26,

    I am not sure why you would want to ask anyone who currently uses a Mac product for their opinion?

    Without exception, in my experience, they all eulogise any and all Mac thingys and are happy to proselytise their love of Apple to anyone who will listen.

    Take it as read, and go with the flow! :-)

    For myself, I renounced all attempts to convert me, and chose instead the latest comparable Sony Vaio with the i7 chip.

    It does all I could ask for but then I do not go googoo eyed over technology. There will be a new one along next week! Philistine? Moi? :-)

  63. Big Raddy says:

    26. Get my email from Peaches and we can chat further about it. I would question yur need for an Air

  64. Big Raddy says:

    RA. Wash your mouth out with soap and water. I do not proselytise. I recommend. And having both systems in the house, I believe my judgement to be unimpaired by any bias.

    And they are things of beauty.

    Philistine? Tu? :-)

  65. Gooner in Exile says:

    26 I too am a Mac convert….recently from windows to mac. Like Raddy my wife has made the change easily, as has my Dad recently.

    I would be wary of the Air, given the choice if it’s to replace a NetBook why not go for the iPad?

    Also no need to buy MS office for Mac, as iWork will probably do most of what you want and can save in MS formats. Excel (because of pivot tables) & Sage are the only packages that keep me from ditching Windows altogether (I use in a virtual machine environment within MacOSX)

  66. RockyLives says:

    Carilto
    You must have heard the saying: “Once you’ve had Mac you’ll never go back.”

    Unless that’s about dating Scottish people…

  67. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rocky, and all you stay abed Canadians! :-)

    I thought your Post cleverly used the ‘Open Letter’ gambit as a way to speak more to the spirit and principle of supporting the club in a constructive way, rather than the hostile and counter productive whingeing so many seem to find acceptable.

    To be honest, I have never seen an open letter to the club, and doubt I would be bothered to read it if I did!

    My head is full of enough ‘stuff’ already, and I am very disciplined in rejecting anything that looks boring, stupid or inconsequential.

    The regular AA’ers are the perfect antidote and I have even mellowed when the occasional hit and miss merchant visits the site. :-)

  68. Red Arse says:

    Look you lot, if I ever needed to have a point proven, you have accommodated me! :-)

    26, surrender now! :-)

  69. Carlito11 says:

    Hi Rocky- definitely about dating Scottish people but it works for Macs ;-)
    I like your idea of a ranking of things that vex and annoy- could make a good post!

  70. RockyLives says:

    Redders
    As usual you hit the heart of the matter: the second para of your 3.54 sums it up perfectly.

  71. 26may1989 says:

    Many thanks Raddy, Carlito, Exile and even you RA, all much appreciated! And Raddy, I’d be very happy to take up your kind offer.

    Peaches, when you’ve got a mo, could you send Raddy’s address to my work email (the one ending salans.com)?

    Gracias one and all.

  72. RockyLives says:

    26may
    “and even you RA” :)

  73. 26may1989 says:

    And Exile, to answer your point re the iPad, I make no bones about it, I’m a gadget poser lots of the time (not a hard-edged utilitarian like RA). But one thing I do need in a computer is a blinking keyboard. It does look pretty though.

  74. 26may1989 says:

    Rocky, have just registered your 3.48 – excellent!

    If there’s one thing I hate more than anything else, it’s bloody rankings of things that vex and annoy……

  75. mickydidit89 says:

    GiE,
    Ipad won’t deal with any Flash sites or Excel for that matter, but an Air will do both. I am no expert, but these are the reasons I cannot go Mac.

  76. Evonne says:

    Big Mouth Chesny aka Wojtek Szczesny – after Cashley jibe he is radiculing some politicians in Poland. He is not very popular over there

  77. Rasp says:

    26m,

    That’s the 5th most sensible comment out of 83 meaning you’re brighter than 93.7959% of blogers today :P

  78. dandan says:

    BR many years ago I was parked late at night in Hyde Park with a young lady, when a guy came along with a white Mac knocked on the window, and gave us both a surprise. :-)

  79. RockyLives says:

    dandan
    that must have been quite a shock, as I’m sure you and your lady friend were just having a quiet discussion about the nocturnal fauna of London’s great parks.

  80. Rasp says:

    Sorry dandan, I didn’t know it was you – was your young lady impressed? :oops:

  81. RockyLives says:

    Rasp :D

  82. dandan says:

    Whatever we were talking about I have to say it killed the conversation Rocky

  83. dandan says:

    No Rasp but when can we meet again. :-)

  84. Big Raddy says:

    Dan Dan . I loved that white mac ….. Obviously Rasp bought it when I passed it onto Oxfam

  85. Mickeyk says:

    We won’t win the league or anything else with wenger in charge his expererment hasn’t worked.let move on now to another level a higher level.A winning level

  86. dandan says:

    Having lowered the tone, I am off to treat the family to a Chinese, have fun guys

  87. dandan says:

    Nice one Raddy :-)

  88. RockyLives says:

    Mickeyk
    That may well be a perfectly reasonable point to make if, come late May, we have not won the title.
    But right now, when we’re in an excellent position to win it, it’s a really pessimistic attitude.
    If asked “glass half full, or glass half empty?” do you reply “what effing glass?”

  89. 26may1989 says:

    I’m not sure how that happened, but by asking about computers I seem to have got the inestimable dandan into a nostalgic mood about a romantic episode in a park from his younger days.

    Was Stan Collymore there dandan??

  90. RockyLives says:

    Just noticed Micky’s comment from earlier:

    “If middle aged blokes like me are going to wear colours, then its ’71 or nothing.”

    I vote Micky wears nothing! Can someone bring a camera?

    If Micky baulks at this, perhaps he could borrow Rasp’s mac.

  91. 26may1989 says:

    Excellent! As others will have spotted on Newsnow, a piece entitled “Open Letter To Ivan Gazidis – The Response” has just appeared on the Arsenal Insider site (http://www.arsenalinsider.com/arsenal-news/2364-open-letter-to-ivan-gazidis–the-response-). That makes the timing of Rocky’s post brilliant! Unless he is the Arsenal Insider….

  92. Mickeyk says:

    Red arse stressed of coursed I’m stressed watching arsene and his team fail again .you wait untill saturday when we struggle against Blackburn and watch wengers silly little dance again then you’ll be stressed .

  93. Rasp says:

    And what will you do MickyK if we win comfortably and in style? Surely you won’t be disappointed because your prediction of doom has failed to transpire.

    I’ll make a deal with you – I’ll give you my honest reaction on Monday if you are correct but I’d like you to do the same and come on here and tell how you feel about your attitude if we win.

  94. Carlito11 says:

    Good news! Dan Walker- him off the BBC- has confirmed that Theo is fit and ready to return! I’m made up :-)

  95. Carlito11 says:

    What worries me about your doom and gloom MickyK is that you are a regular at the Grove! How do you get up for supporting the team and singing them on if you’re in a permanent slough of despond? And imagine how depressed you’d be if you supported a shit team?

  96. Rasp says:

    Mickyk,

    Meet us in The Tavern before the game and let’s see if we can’t put a smile on your face :) btw, the drinks are on you ….

  97. mickydidit89 says:

    Rocky,
    You know very well I am not a Mac Man, so Commando it is!

  98. 26may1989 says:

    Fair enough Mickeyk, we all know the team can self-destruct, but I’m curious, in this season of failure, how did you react to the 29 victories we’ve had in all competitions (the same number United have had by the way)?

    Other things from the PL you may wish to comment on:

    - Arsenal are the second highest scorers
    - Arsenal have the third best defence as measured by goals conceded
    - Arsenal have the fifth highest number of clean sheets (one behind United and two behind Chelsea and City)
    - Arsenal have comfortably the best away record, bagging six more points from one less game

    Certainly looks like a season of abject failure doesn’t it? If only we could still win the title….. Err……..

  99. 26may1989 says:

    That was meant to be “- Arsenal have comfortably the best away record, bagging six more points from one less game than United”. Sorry.

  100. Red Arse says:

    Carlito,

    Your 5:11 mentions you are made up. The Rasper told me he thought your lipstick et al was fine, but the high heels and cheeky basque was the icing on the cake for him!! :-)

    Shows what a few pre-match drinks can do to you! :-)

  101. Carlito11 says:

    Ooo RedArse, you ARE awful… But I like you ;-)

  102. Red Arse says:

    Carlito, :-)

  103. Carlito11 says:

    26m- that I the beat summary of reasons for optimism! I’m afraid that some people just don’t want to be cheerful or happy though. Well, we live in hope! (some of us anyway)

  104. Carlito11 says:

    Supposed to say “that was the best summary”

  105. chas says:

    Great post Rocky.

    Can you really smell the feet of the chap that sits behind you at the Emirates? How about a bar of antifungal soap on his seat on Saturday?

  106. Red Arse says:

    Gone quiet, so serves you right!! :-)

    Let’s face it, the problem is that admitting we don’t know everything about everything is never easy for a bloke – and it can be virtually impossible in the most obviously testosterone-laden arenas of sex, Arsenal and sport.

    Even if we were self-confident enough to ask a classmate or friend the chances are that they know no more than anybody else about Arsenal or sex at that age.

    For much of our lives we live Arsenal and sex, breathe Arsenal and sex and will do almost anything to get more Arsenal and sex. Or at least some of it if we are not getting any at all.

    Like some kind of insane life force, Arsenal and sex seem almost to define our being for much of our late adolescence, yet even into adulthood many of the most ridiculous myths about both persist and do so despite all the evidence to the contrary.

    In this environment myths are free to proliferate like crazy, and proliferate they do. Eventually we manage to separate the wheat from the chaff – but only some of it, and usually only after many years so you younger guys need to be patient! :-)

    [Freely annotated from God knows where] :-)

  107. Big Raddy says:

    RA “Like some kind of insane life force, Arsenal and sex seem almost to define our being for much of our late adolescence, yet even into adulthood many of the most ridiculous myths about both persist and do so despite all the evidence to the contrary.”

    Long may it continue. The truth hurts.

  108. Red Arse says:

    Kelsey, Raddy, :-) :-)

    Got to go and lie down now ready for tomorrow’s instalment of AA comments. Just love it! :-) Even 26! :-)

  109. Gooner in Exile says:

    I really don’t want to see Mickyk before the game Saturday I want a few bevvies with positive Gooners who think we can do it.

    I also want to drink with people who hope we can win a trophy and don’t demand it.

    As others have said on here since the doomturn some of you would never be able to support 18 other teams in the PL let alone the rest of the football league.

    Trophyless gaps:
    1886-1902
    1904-1929
    1938-1947
    1953-1970
    1972-1978
    1980-1986
    1995-1997
    2006- present

    Let’s face it Gooners who started supporting in the 90′s have been spoilt.

  110. dandan says:

    Amen to that GIE and not just in football in most cases.

  111. Irishgunner says:

    Best headline EVER

  112. RockyLives says:

    Seems like I was wrong:

    http://www.arsenalinsider.com/arsenal-news/2364-open-letter-to-ivan-gazidis–the-response-?

    Mind you, Gazidis was responding to a letter about a very specific point – the possible rise in season ticket prices.

    My post was really aimed at the writers of ‘open letters’ who use the forum to demand that certain players be bought/sold, that the manager be sacked or made to listen to their (the letter writer’s) suggestions for team selection and structure etc. In other words, people who just want to spout doom at the people who run the club.

  113. Irish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How are you hon ;)

    Arsenal and sex – you’ve got me there Red Arse ;)

    Raddy – are you about, I think we need to use your post for tomorrow, do you need to play with it at all?

  114. Mickeyk says:

    Rasp I will come on the site on Monday and I hope I’m wrong but I’m not you’ll see .

  115. Irishgunner says:

    Peaches!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :P

    I’m good thanks, how are you?

  116. Mickeyk says:

    May 26 your list tells the story second this third that fifth this no firsts.away record great but we still won’t win the league.a team leading by four goal at half time then drawing 4-4 will never win the league .

  117. I’m good thanks Irish. How d’you feel about the Blackburn game? As you see we’ve got peeps on both sides of the fence now. Mind you now that Rasp has thrown down the gauntlet to Mickeyk, Mondays comments will be interesting.

  118. Mickeyk says:

    I surport arsenal because I was born and bred in Islington .and have surported arsenal since the late 70s and used to go in the early 80s when we had the worst team ever and the biggest highlight for years was when Charlie Nicholas scored 2goals against totters.I have had enough of wenger letting me down and I just want us to win something.In 89 when we went to Liverpool no one gave us a chance but we knew the players would give everything .but not the rubbish players we’ve got now some of them are disgracefull.

  119. Irishgunner says:

    We’ll beat Blackburn – I fancy them for relegation to be honest.

  120. Rasp says:

    Mickeyk, if Arsenal lose to Blackburn, on Monday I shall be in exactly the same place as I am today – an Arsenal supporter come hell or high water…. and so shall you.

    Someone the other day accused me of being a dreamer, and that’s exactly what I am. Where’s the fun in expecting the worst? I pity anyone who supports and yet does not dream of success with hope and optimism; someone who instead covets failure as if it were a comfortable safety blanket to protect them from disappointment.

    It looks like we’re not going to be able to convert you to a more positive outlook but I hope that success is as sweet for you as us when it arrives – be it this season or in another 6 years.

  121. Mickeyk says:

    I didn’t say lose I said struggle

  122. Mickeyk says:

    GOODNIGHT arsenal surporters

  123. Rasp says:

    Well of course it will be a struggle. Blackburn need to win as much as we do and they will play to their strengths and try to exploit our weaknesses. Easy victories are a rarity – maybe Blackpool earlier in the season.

  124. Mickeyk says:

    Do me a favour .how are we ment to win the European cup and league and be worried about Blackburn we should batter them.GOODNight

  125. RockyLives says:

    Oh MickeyK, stop the gloom. So if we struggle against Blackburn it means we’re rubbish… which presumably means that ManUtd are rubbish for losing to Wolves and for struggling against lots of lower teams this year; ditto Chavski and Man City…
    We have a very competitive league as everyone knows and there are few easy wins.
    How did you feel after we beat Chelsea? Presumably beforehand you were telling everyone who would listen how we were going to get battered again.

  126. Rasp says:

    Never mind Rocky we tried, Mickeyk is obviously happiest wallowing in his pit of despair.

  127. SharkeySure says:

    Rocky, brilliant post (yet another?). Got to agree with Irish as well, top quality headline.

    DanDan’s clever play on Mac’s followed by Rasp’s long overdue confession has been the highlight of my day, and I’ve had a decent day today !!

    I’m trying to get a spare for Sat. I’m long overdue a visit. I’ll be trying the exchange but any private offers will also be entertained. Single or a pair is fine.

  128. Rasp – if you’ve got time can you put the pitch layout in Raddy’s post please, just in case

  129. Sharkey – there are loads on the exchange, some lower tier too.

  130. Rasp says:

    OK peaches, will do

  131. Gooner in Exile says:

    Sharkey looked earlier there are even a couple in Red Action section, gutted i got mine before, and now theres one in Area 7 Row 22, which I figure if not in Red Action is right next to it

  132. Gooner in Exile says:

    Peaches aren’t you getting ahead of yourself the Match isn’t until Saturday surely too early for a Raddy prematch, I know its been a long time since our last game :)

  133. 26may1989 says:

    MickeyK, sounds like you and I share a lot in terms of background, but not much in terms of views on the current squad. I’m interested in your dismissal of the current players compared with those that scraped a glorious victory on 26 May 1989.

    Good and balanced as that 1989 squad was, the suggestion that it was better than the current squad is unconvincing. The defence was better, though in goal Szczesny is miles better than John Lukic. But do you seriously think a midfield of Michael Thomas, Kevin Richardson, Perry Groves, David Rocastle, Brian Marwood and Paul Davis even begins to compare to one including the likes of Fabregas, Nasri, Wilshere, Arshavin, Song and Walcott? As Lee Dixon and Nigel Winterburn say themselves, the current squad is far more talented than the squad they were in, absolutely no question.

  134. 26may1989 says:

    I have a spare for Saturday: good seat (west lower on the halfway line) and cover price (£38). Only downside is you’d have to sit next to me. Happy to meet the lucky soul at the Tavern beforehand.

  135. Gooner in Exile says:

    At least they’d know theyd have one less moaner near them 26 :)

    I was reading Red Action site earlier and altho their songs page needs updating one thing struck me as very true in what they say. Gooners have always been good at moaning, I guess that’s why I like this site so much as the moaning is kept to a minimum.

    I remember hearing Groves, Parlour, Limpar and various others given awful shite by some of the faithful. They all became legends in their own ways and were adopted as cult heroes. Who can forget that we all live in a Perry Groves world.

  136. Gooner in Exile says:

    I also remember a tshirt sold by the club with Ian Wrights face on it said

    “you talk a good game, but can you play one”

    All those who criticise the current whipping boys/future stars should remember that.

  137. mickydidit89 says:

    Mickeyk,
    While there is a part of me that hopes you emigrate to Australia, there is something I always like in a Basil Fawlty Doomer Character who carries his doomhead with dignity. I am warming to the idea of a resident site gloomist.

  138. mickydidit89 says:

    Right, now for something really positive. How about one of these:
    .
    ……Song
    …Cesc AA
    Theo RvP….Nasri

    or
    ……Song
    …Cesc Nasri
    Theo RvP….AA

  139. mickydidit89 says:

    JW needs a rest.

  140. Rasp says:

    Morning Micky,

    Jack certainly does need a rest. I’d like to know the dynamic between Wenger and Capello – who has the power? Can Arsene say “OK you can have Jack for the 2 games but I onmly want him to play a total of 90 minutes football” or is it the case that if we release him, Capello can do what he likes? We know the clubs in the CL get special dispensation, but what about clubs that lose the majority of their squad to International duty.

  141. Evonne says:

    Hi Rasp, I am not sure if Wenger can dictate to Capello, but I am sure Fergie does :)

  142. chas says:

    10 year anniversary of David Rocastle’s passing. Unbelievable.

    http://yfrog.com/h4d7sofj

  143. Rasp says:

    I’m sure you’re right Evonne. The number of players we’ve lost to injury over recent years is too many – RvP, Theo, Djourou and Vermaelen alone probably add up to 2 whole seasons of football missed. I’m not bothered about compensation, I’m sure that’s covered by insurance, its the loss of the players. We also know that AW won’t field players who have played in South America the following weekend (Vela)

  144. Sharkey says:

    Cheers 26m.

    The only downside for you is having to sit next to me !! Can we calll it a done deal ..??

    Rasp, Peaches. The Tavern is where I met you guys last time right..??

  145. Rasp says:

    That’s it Sharkey, not the most appealing or best placed Arsenal pub – but you can usually get to the bar to order a drink (or 7 if you’re chary)

  146. Evonne says:

    Rasp – on top of it, the two Polish players that would not be on international duties (Poland is hosting the games, so no qualifiers), are already injured. S*ds law

  147. Carlito11 says:

    This is turning into quite a get together! Really looking forward to meeting everyone :-)
    Shall we book the back bar? ;-)

  148. Carlito11 says:

    RIP Rocky- sadly missed but beautifully remembered by the faithful. He’s been trending on twitter this morning- what a player, what a gent…

  149. Raddy – it says you’re in the post, can you either publish or tell me when you’re out please

  150. Ok, I’ve done it now

    New Post

  151. SharkeySure says:

    Cheers Rasp

  152. Robbie says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

