No repetition of stupid mistakes

A few weeks ago I left a room in deep despair about the team I love. Having made  many changes from the team that destroyed Chelsea, Mr Wenger’s second string team threw away two points against a 10 man relegation threatened Wigan side. I was furious, particularly so because there was an inevitablilty about Wigan’s equaliser. Admit it, when Wigan attacked and won that corner you knew, you just knew that they would score, that Fabianski would be in no-man’s land, that no-one would properly defend the back post and that once again Arsenal would be soft in the centre of defence against a set play. My language was to say the least, colourful.

Yet today I have no such fears. We are at the start of a runof 6 home games out of the next 7, and I expect us to win ALL of them. We are riding high in confidence, are relatively injury free, have cover in all positions (assuming Squilacci is on track) and almost all our players are in-form. If we are going to win trophies these 6 home games have to be won and I fully expect us to make a successful start this afternoon.

Wigan arrive in a sorry state having thrown away two points to Fulham following a very late equaliser. They are rooted in the relegation zone despite playing decent football. Martinez seems to have a good footballing philosophy (though there was some vicious tackling at the DW).

Someone wrote on the yesterday’s post that a player is only as good as the team around him.  I wanted to take issue but didn’t have the time. Wigan are a case in point. N’zogbia is a quality player – only 24 y.o. with plenty of skills – he could play at a much higher level than Wigan. In my opinion, if N’zogbia was really a star player he would be able to lift his team-mates performances and  take them out of the relegation zone. Maradona took a dull Argentina to win the World Cup almost single-handedly; Ronaldo’s 40+ goals took an average Man Utd to the Double.

I hope you have seen the excellent BBC interview with Mr Wenger (on the BBC website). What a privilege it is to have him as our manager. If ever a man represented the club with honour it is Arsene. He is intelligent, polite, erudite, humourous and above all a decent man. An Arsenal man.

I expect us to start with our A team. All are fit and rested apart from Fabianski :-

I have never had the pleasure of a trip to Wigan. I know there is a pier there (thanks to George Orwell), and that it is a town which benefitted from the Industrial Revolution.  Wigan’s current claim to fame is that it hosts The World Pie Eating Championship and is the home of Uncle Joe’s Mint Balls.

If we are to win the Title we must take 3 points today and we will.

COYRRG

84 Responses to No repetition of stupid mistakes

  1. HR says:

    Wengers interview was great, I cant ever imagine Alex ferguson, redcrap, ancelloti or any other manager doing one like it.

  2. Red Arse says:

    Excellent post, Raddy. :-)

    Thr first paragraph brought back painful memories of the first game but you quickly gave me a pickup looking forward to today’s game. :-)

    Wigan Pier is actually not a pier in the accepted sense. It is the name given, probably jocularly originally, to describe the area around the canal locks. I don’t know why.

    There is a night club called Wigan Pier too, (never been), but I can recommend the very sociable people and the chinese restaurants. :-)

  3. Red Arse says:

    I did not see the BBC interview, but I totally agree with your comment about how lucky we are to have him as our manager!

  4. gunnerwilliam says:

    I just hope the rumours about Woodgate aint true. We know what happened when Campbell and Silvester were in the team. Surely Wenger aint that dumb/naive .With the gunners clearly in the fight on all fronts,it would just make sense to go for the quality player who can make a difference.

  5. Steve1 says:

    I’m sure no changes on that winning team!

  6. Carlito11 says:

    Good right up BR, I might add Northern Soul to your Wigan Pier bit- only becuase it’s close to my heart though! Looking forward to a barnstorming game and hopefully a one-sided one! Any predictions London?

  7. London says:

    Morning Carlito

    I am going for 3-0 with Van Persie first scorer.

  8. Carlito11 says:

    My initial thought wa 4-0 van persie to score two! Come on you Gunners!

  9. London says:

    There is still one thing that still bothers me. If Vermaelen is out for the season then we will obviously need back up. There is the Cahill route; the down side according to Wenger is that it will harm the confidence of the emerging Djourou and Koscielny partnership there is a certain amount of truth in that. At the beginning of next season when the Belgian is fit one of Cahill, Djourou and Koscielny will be surplus to first team requirements and disruption will follow.
    Plan B is to find someone with EPL experience who will be happy to be paid well to sit on the bench ready and only to be used in emergencies. Personally I would settle for that; Djourou and Koscielny are starting to form a good partnership so the highest quality stand by may be the answer, we should remember that Squillaci is on slouch in the standby stakes but someone with a lot of EPL experience would be better, don’t you agree? Yes, I hear you say, then why the bloody hell did you pour so much scorn over the arrival of Silvestre…ooohhhh because he used to play for manu…pathetic answer.

  10. fruss says:

    Surprisingly, that is exactly the same line-up i posted on my facebook.I thought Nasri needed resting but i dont think we are in a position we can take chances against a team fighting for relegation.Arsenal 4 Wigan 0.Scorers,walcott,van persie,nasri

  11. London says:

    Morning BR

    Excellent read as ever.

    Have a look at this it should bring a smile to your face. It is written with humour and rule 56 sets the tone nicely, rule 5 is my favorite. My apologies to everyone else as this is not Arsenal releated.

    http://www.velominati.com/blog/the-rules/

  12. This has to be the answer to everything

    Rule 7

    Tan lines should be cultivated and kept razor sharp. Under no circumstances should one be rolling up their sleeves or shorts in an effort to somehow diminish one’s tan lines. Sleeveless jerseys are under no circumstances to be employed.

  13. London – I think you’re taking this biking obsession too far – one of the rules says The Bike comes first!!!!!!! What about The Arsenal?????????

  14. Red Arse says:

    London,

    Agree with your musings about CB – to buy or not to buy, Big. Well except for the last sentence. :-)

    I told a good friend who visited me last Wednesday about your scoreline prediction, 3:1, as I was amused by your certainty.

    I don’t bet myself, but he ‘phoned me this a.m. and said he was going to give me £25?? Apparently he decided to put a bet on Arsenal to win, based on your forecast and won “a wedge”, (not up on the vernacular) :-) and the £25 is a gift to me from his winnings to cheer me up! :-) More please, London! :-)

  15. Excellent pre-match Raddy, lets put those Wiganists to the sword although I’m sure I thought the 3 points were in the bag those short weeks ago.

    My footie friend also feels a 4 in the scoreline – she can’t decide if its 4-0 or 4-1 atm.

  16. …… and anyone fancy the match report? :)

  17. Andy-Stevenage says:

    My A team would never include Fabianski in goal, Szczesny is a much better goal keeper. For once I actually feel we have a safe pair of hands in goal with Szczesny. I just hope Fabianski dosen’t get back in the team. Knowing Wenger he probably will!

    In regards to Wigan being hosts of the world pie eating competition, when is it on? and how do you enter?

  18. London – Silvestre wasn’t very good ;)

  19. kenya says:

    a win 4 arsenal

  20. Red Arse says:

    London,

    Have just seen Arsene’s BBC interview. You were right. He was excellent thru’ out! :-)

  21. Gooner in Exile says:

    Great write up Raddy.

    Was looking forward to going to the Grove today with my brother to savour a mauling, unfortunately I have had to pack him off with his fiancee, whose only other Arsenal game was at the JJB for the infamous collapse. I’m just hoping i haven’t inflicted a Jonah on anyone else attending today.

    Football doesn’t seem so important today, the wife and I found out we had a miscarriage yesterday so going to the Grove today doesn’t seem the right thing to do (especially because it means me being out of the house for 10 hours or so).

    Sorry to sour things but I figured some people would be expecting me to post about the game today from a home fan perspective. I would explain now why I wasn’t there, and also my absence for next few days or so.

    Speak to you all soon.

  22. RockyLives says:

    Sorry to hear that GiE.

  23. Gooner in Exile says:

    I know I’m hoping his fiancee is not really a bad luck charm :)

    (humour works wonders)

  24. Big Raddy says:

    Sorry to read that GIE. Wishing the very best to both you and your wife

  25. Big Raddy says:

    Man Utd are live on TV today – no surprise there, the Danish media are as much in love with the Mancs as the British. So it will be a stream for me and probably livefooty.

    Will blog through the game I expect despite there being no-one around for company :-(

  26. Big Raddy says:

    London. I am a strict adherent to Rule 5. And Rule 70.

  27. Big Raddy says:

    20 mins gone and still 0-0. Unbelievably!

    Theo playing some great football ….. give him the ball

  28. Gooner in Exile says:

    Can’t find a stream, am watching BBC stats and live text whilst working and all i see is:

    “X shoots, Ali Al Habsi saves”

    Literally every other line!

  29. Big Raddy says:

    Fantastic football from Arsenal in that half, sadly rewarded by only one goal.

    More of the same please but with more incisive finishing.

  30. Red Arse says:

    GIE,

    I am watching ATDHE. No sound but I am playing my CDs while the Gunners attack! :-)

  31. Red Arse says:

    BR,

    They are all being too nice. Theo 1 on 1 and passes sideways instead of whacking it. More of the after you Claude with the shooting unfortunately.

    We should be 4:0 up, at least.

  32. Big Raddy says:

    Or better still spend 6 quid for 60 days and get

    http://www.liveonlinefooty.com

    It is an excellent service. Though sometimes the commentary is foreign

  33. Big Raddy says:

    I cannot understand why a striker doesn’t strike.

    Theo needs to learn to be as greedy as RvP

  34. Red Arse says:

    Uh Oh, Djourou holding his shoulder and in some discomfort. :-(

    We are rubbish so far in the 2nd half!

  35. Big Raddy says:

    What a pass from Cesc and a superb finish.

  36. Red Arse says:

    We seem to have changed shirts. Wigan are having much the better of this 2nd half.

    Come on guys, remember you are ten times better than Wigan!

  37. Red Arse says:

    It was a beauty BR, but slightly against the run of play.

    If we play like the 1st half it could be 10:0

  38. Red Arse says:

    Been keeping an eye on the Cardiff v Watford game.

    JET has come on and is playing v. well! :-)

  39. Big Raddy says:

    London 11.27. Gosh …….

    Great performance today. Wigan looked totally shell-shocked. The stats must be fantastic as we passed them to defeat. RvP gave the best CF performance since TH left.

  40. SharkeySure says:

    Brilliant 1st half, could quite easily have been 5-0.

    Slow start to 2nd half, but then we came good.

    Arsene’s a genius, we are truly blessed to watch pass and move football of this quality !! May it soon be rewarded with some shiny trophies

  41. SharkeySure says:

    Agreed re RVP Radders, he was practically unplayable today.

    A word for the magician that is Cesc Fabregas. Is he really human..?? His speed of thought and calculation could only be rivalled by a NASA supercomputer surely..??

  42. SharkeySure says:

    Radders I signed up to online footy yesterday, top top site. Bye bye Sky and ESPN subscriptions !!!

  43. Big Raddy says:

    SS. I thought I had told all the visitors to AA about Onlinefooty! It is the best and cheapest online footie site. Shame they don’t do cricket.

    As you say, Cesc is a magician. HIs speed of thought is beyond brilliant.

  44. Red Arse says:

    You are so right Sharkey! :-)

    I watched the game on Atdhe but the stream was very poor and kept re-buffering. I’m sure Chezzer should not have been leading the line!! :-)

    And waht the hell was Arsene doing in goal?? :-)

  45. London says:

    I think I am correct in saying that today was The Boy Wonder’s first ever professional hat trick…….a very, very special day.

  46. SharkeySure says:

    Atdhe is a pretty good back up site though Red, even if it can be a bit hit and miss. Its always there for every game.

  47. Red Arse says:

    I bet it was brilliant at the Emirates today London?

    I cannot wait to go and get my Sunday papers, (at least 5). :-)

    To be able to be sniffy that we “only” won 3:0 instead of 10:0 is better to me than …….. :-)

  48. RockyLives says:

    I’m sure the papers will go on a bit about our missed chances and how “we can’t afford to be that wasteful against the top sides…” but I take a lot of comfort from the fact that the vast majority of our attempts were on target and that their ‘keeper and defenders made some blinding stops.

    Theo had another good game. I thought that he did exactly the right thing in his on-on-one by trying to play Cesc in. The ‘keeper had come off his line well and narrowed the target and Cesc would have had a tap in but (alas) Theo underhit the pass and allowed the defender to get back.

    In fact the whole team played really well today. RvP will be MoTM, but Cesc was also outstanding.

  49. Red Arse says:

    It’s always my fall back Sharkey, but I roam far and wide (Al Jazeera etc) to try and get the “perfect” picture.

    TG for the net!! :-)

    Man City are losing 1:0 away to Villa. Bent!! :-)

  50. RockyLives says:

    The £24 million man!

  51. Big Raddy says:

    BTW The Big Club that is Tottenham, you know That Club who are Top 4, In Europe and are now Top Club in London, are already 8 points behind us.

    Strange that …..

  52. Red Arse says:

    Can’t disagree with you Rocky. :-)

    AW in his post match i/v said he was frustrated we had not scored more but that as a team we were brilliant.

    So true! :-)

    BTW, the Dom Perignon was confiscated last night, but the upside is that I can have it tomorrow with my friends. The best way!! A proper celebration! :-)

  53. Red Arse says:

    Raddy,

    :-) :-)

  54. Carlito11 says:

    London- I only have one word for you- prescient

  55. RockyLives says:

    6 goals in 6 starts for RvP in the Prem this season :)

  56. RockyLives says:

    Enjoy the Dom P Redders.
    Sounds like you’ve earned it.

  57. Carlito11 says:

    Prescient London- I know you’re not in the Market fir a new moniker but if you were… To the game- my favourite thing about it was that Robin deliberately skiied a penalty in order to make his hat-trick as memorable as possible ;-)

  58. Big Raddy says:

    Carlito. You must be right because it was one of the worst penalties I have ever seen.

  59. Carlito11 says:

    To honest- at least for the first half- motm was al-habsi. Shots on target- we should gave been 10 up. Sz didn’t have a save to make either. Rvp’s strike for the second was wrighty-esque! Another quiet atmos but that’s my only grumble :-)

  60. SharkeySure says:

    Hey Red, glad to hear you’re well enough to be back on the sauce !!!

  61. Big Raddy says:

    Watching the AV game. They are awful and the fact they are leading MC is a major slight on our performance v MC and shows how much luck plays a part in football.

    Come on Villa

  62. London says:

    Hi Carlito

    It’s just been pure luck that I predicted and got right the score lines of the last two games.

    We were treated today wasn’t we?

  63. Red Arse says:

    Rocky, Sharkey,

    I have been assured a small glass of the good stuff will be OK tomorrow. Just as well as I have no idea where the Dom P disappeared too. Must be those Burrowers! :-)

    Please, please Villa hold on, even if you are cr*p.

    Oooh, Citeh have just hit the post!!!

  64. SharkeySure says:

    Darren Bent – worth every penny. I’ve been saying so all week, but no one would listen !!

  65. London says:

    lol Sharkey

  66. Red Arse says:

    Sharkey,

    :-)

  67. How fabulous were we today – the first half was just sensational, could have been 6 – 8 – 10 nil. Cesc must have wondered what he needed to do to score but Robin was so classy, I’m so pleased he got a proper hat-trick – none of this penalty nonsense ;)

    Any volunteers for a match report?

    GiE sorry to hear your sad news, best wishes to the both of you.

  68. London says:

    This is for BR

    Please ignore this everyone else, it is way off subject.

    http://www.xtranormal.com/watch/6694173/

    BR, watch and howl.

  69. I had to sneak a look :lol: :P :D

  70. mickydidit89 says:

    I am on a train. There is someone in the carriage who really ought to be, well, dead. What is the AA official line on site access to nice people who have, quite out of character, commited murder? Now would be an excellent time to get an answer.

  71. mickydidit89 says:

    Great Result. Nice to see you RAsp and Peaches. Future contact possibly by pigeon.
    Nite all.

  72. SharkeySure says:

    We know you well MIDI. Anyone you’ve murdered has to have deserved it to such an extent that any one of us would have happily taken your place and done the same.

    Any advice you need on ‘how to’, then most here will be happy to help !!

  73. London says:

    Peaches

    There is a kind of report in drafts should you need one, if you do use it can you proof it and press publish, I will be back at 11am

  74. Rasp says:

    Nite Micky, nice to meet you again, I hope your son enjoyed the feast of football :)

  75. SharkeySure says:

    GiE and Mrs GiE. My best wishes to you both !

  76. SharkeySure says:

    What a game to be at. Mesmerising stuff. I still can’t believe it wasn’t 8-0 at half time !!

    Night all

  77. Rasp says:

    Thanks London, that’s great – of course we’d like to use it!

  78. Rasp says:

    GiE,

    So sorry to hear your sad news, our thoughts are with you.

  79. London – I’m pleased you couldn’t resist the temptation to oooh and cooooo – I haven’t looked yet but I suspect Miss Piggy had her say again in any player ratings and Our Boy Wonder – who was wonderful – gets a 10 :)

    Thank you

  80. mickydidit89 says:

    London and BR,
    The Kings of predictions! Or should I say Queens, as in “Wise Women” who live in the woods, stroke big glass balls, and make potions? Getting slightly spookey.

  81. Big Raddy says:

    Not the first time I have been called “A Queen” :-D

    Still basking.

  82. mickydidit89 says:

    Morning BR,
    Rasp,
    Thanks. He had a really really memorable day. I, on the other hand, am glad we kept it to 3-0, as every time we netted, I had to hoik him up so that he could see and join in the celebrations!

  83. Morning all :)

    There’s a New Post

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

