Goodbye Silvestre, Gallas and Campbell – Boy Wonder Number 10.

Its getting exciting now – you know the season is impending when people are making travel arrangements for our annual trip to Barnet.

This week, Arsenal.com put up the pictures of those of the first team not on international duty who came back for some fitness work. It was nice to see Kieran Gibbs back in training, and word is Aaron Ramsey is back running without any trouble. Our latest recruit Maroune Chamakh seems to have a new BFF in Samir Nasri.

Laurent Koscielny is an Arsenal player. To all those who think he can’t be up to much because he comes from the second tier of French football, consider this; Arsenal is notoriously frugal in its spending and yet we’ve lashed out £8.5m for him (reportedly) when FC Lorient only paid £1.5m a year earlier - he’s going to be some player believe me.

While having a look around the site, I had a look at our lovely new kit again – only problem is the large sponsorship font, but beggars and choosers and all that… Anyways, I went into the online shopping section and happened upon something very interesting.

It seems all the ifs and buts are answered. William Gallas, Mikael Silvestre and Sol Campbell would appear to be no longer Arsenal players. In the drop down section that allows you to select a personalised name and number, the options of Campbell, Silvestre and Campbell are no longer available. (Oddly you can still get Gilbert on your shirt – two things, WHY? and he was released last week, memo mustn’t have gone out). I doubt this is because of uncertainty over their contracts, it must be because they are going and honestly none of the three are a shock.

Silvestre no-body will cry over. Campbell was always bound to go wherever he could get a nice signing-on fee (sorry Peaches) and while Gallas has been a good player for us overall, he’s become increasingly injury prone. What is key here, is that all three are CBs. Its a broken record by now, but signing Koscielny won’t be enough. Vermaelen is now our only tried and trusted CB, Djourou is largely untested and coming back from a long lay-off. We don’t know what Koscielny is like, and I won’t sit here and judge before I see just because I’ve not heard of him. Alex Song can play there but he is needed in midfield, so Wenger must be looking at, at least one more defensive signing – none of the youth’s look ready to come up and its far too risky to chance it. Wenger must know this by now.

Aside from Silvestre’s, Campbell’s and Gallas’ numbers being unavailable (at least in the drop down menu) its also worth noting that Robin van Persie has applied to have his number changed for next season. As Arshavin hasn’t applied (he being the other option) I expect the boy wonder to drop down a number next season and become number 10. Bergkamp is his hero and how nice that he can wear the same number at the same club as his hero once did.

That is unless Cesc is leaving and the number is for a new play-maker but all things considered, its going to Robin – why else apply for a change of number?

World Cup is coming to an end and Barnet is just around the corner – new look Arsenal is beginning to take shape, I hope!

181 Responses to Goodbye Silvestre, Gallas and Campbell – Boy Wonder Number 10.

  1. tommystout says:

    good post irish.
    i hope he does get the number 10 it may give him a psychological edge this season. Maybe the change in number helped bendtners game too!
    I hope robin wins the world cup, stays with arsenal, an example to cesc.
    Anyway i’m pleased that this world cup is finally drawing to an end and we can start to look forward to real football.

  2. tommystout says:

    i thought it was very similar to watching arsenal last night, crisp passing, patient play, gradually wearing the opposition down. Spains tactics worked well.

  3. London says:

    Good read Irish

    And a clever bit of behind the scenes research to find out that neither Silvestre, Gallas or Campbell’s names are available.

    Could the other signing be Mertesacker?

    I didn’t think he was that bad last night, I made a point of taking notice every time he touched the ball and the thing that impressed me the most was how inteligently he cleared or played the ball out…..every single pass found its man.

  4. London says:

    Morning Tommy

    I couldn’t help thinking last night that that is how Arsenal should play and certainly how I envisage Wenger wanting them to play. Spain, in my opinion, won because of their ability to close down so fast the problem is we do not that anywhere near as well: Arshavin is not as committed as he should be to closing down, Walcott doesn’t know how to, Van Persie doesn’t and don’t get me started on Diaby. The fact is that if Wenger wants to emulate the Spanish style of play then he is going to have to instil more determination into the team.

  5. Rasp says:

    Good post irish,

    Hi London,

    I thought Mertesacker was OK last night, I couldn’t see, was he at fault for the Puyol ‘free’ header? There were 2 german defenders on him but neither got up to compete for the ball.

  6. tommystout says:

    good morning london,
    ditto i watched mertesaker liked a hawk, i was very impressed with all that you mentioned plus his anticipaation he made some vital interceptions.
    i also was impressed with trochowski who wengers supposed to be very interested in

  7. tommystout says:

    well it reminded me of arsenal at their best, but yes we have talked plenty about us needing to close down like barca/ spain. They must know that to make our system work then that is what we have to emulate.

  8. tommystout says:

    morning rasp, i didnt blame anyone for the header, i thought it was just a marvellous “I’m having it” type of headed goal.

  9. tommystout says:

    so any of you two think that schwartzer aint coming?

  10. Rasp says:

    Hi tommy,

    Its ironic that after all the clever passing and movement that Spain demonstrated, the goal came from a corner and an old fashioned headed goal by a defender.

  11. London says:

    I really expected Mertesacker to be embarrassed last night by the super quick passing of what is the best attack in the world and never having really been a big fan I was surprised by how well he handled himself………but my conclusion is that I cannot see us buying him.

  12. Rasp says:

    What do you think he would cost London, and is he actually even for sale?

  13. London says:

    Tommy

    I am lost from here on in; any signing now will come as a huge surprise to me.

  14. Rasp says:

    tommy, I think the Schwarzer deal will go through when Fulham have found themselves a replacement.

    I don’t know if they got any compensation for Hodgson, but they can’t have a lot of money to spend.

  15. London says:

    No idea Rasp as to his cost.

    I still think your view of Koscielny and Djourou fighting it out for the right side CB slot with Song as back up is the most plausible.

  16. Rasp says:

    I agree London, re any ‘extra’ signings. We now have the bare minimum of additions albeit good quality and that may be deemed sufficient.

  17. London says:

    Here’s an idea

    We buy Schwarzer for 3 mil: good business for Fulham and we loan them Fabiansky for the season. Simples

  18. tommystout says:

    London.
    I hope that then, you are very surprised!

  19. tommystout says:

    Thought swchwartzer was 2m, i read somewhere he failed his medical first time round but later past it….
    how credible do you think dudulino was rasp? koskielney has got the no.6 shirt as he said… but then again i had read it on other sites

  20. Rasp says:

    tommy,

    We’ll only know the answer to that if we sign Mertesacker as he predicted. If he works at the training ground he will have to be very careful as I’m sure divulging club business would be grounds for dismissal. He seemed like a genuine guy and responded to our email asking permission to quote his comment in a post.

  21. Morning all

    We got a response from the guy from FC Lorient site that linked the post yesterday, I just found it on the old post. I’m going to repost it…………

    Also a comment from clockendjim about djourou, i’ll repost that too

  22. Yann says:
    July 8, 2010 at 10:35 am (Edit)

    @Rasp, @Irish, @London
    Hi,

    I’m the guy who linked AA from fclorient.net forum.

    About “billet”, London get close to it. In a blog context, it’s synonymous of “article” or “post”. ;-)

    About Laurent Koscielny, I remind you some key figures (2009/2010 “Ligue 1″ season) :
    Matches played : 35 ; Starts : 35 ; Minutes played 3115′ ;
    Shots : 9 ; Shots on goal : 5 ; Goals : 3 ;
    Assists : 0 ;
    Fouls committed : 39 ; Fouls against him : 32
    Yellow card : 3 ; Red Card : 0 (1 during cup after a controversial foul committed against Chamack)
    Average Per Match :
    Played Balls: 36
    Earned Balls : 18.5 (#1 amongst all french league players that season)
    Lost Balls : 10
    Passes : 28 ; Achieved passes : 22
    (source : Official stats downloadable at http://www.lfp.fr/ligue1/lireArticle.asp?idArticle=16534 )

    About his nickname : IMO french are less creative than brits. Commonly we just shorten name if it sounds good. Thus, we nicknamed him Kos’
    I read here that some of you use “Kozzer”. Is there a special reason for such a nickname ?

    Lorient’s fans mostly share the analysis published by Bleacher Report
    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/416117-arsenal-2010-11-summer-transfer-laurent-koscielny-scouting-report.
    Sure, Lorient’s fan are sad to see him leave. He was almost their favorite player (#1 is kevin Gameiro, second best striker of french league). On the other hand, we are proud he joins a team such as Arsenal.

  23. gunner man says:

    cambell wiil stay and we will get a keeper, that should b it wenger does not like 2 much signings. If cambell does lve then 4 choice is already at the club or he will go 4 a cheap cb

  24. clockendjim says:
    July 8, 2010 at 10:29 am (Edit)

    I watched Djourou play the defensive midfield role in the reserves when he was making his comeback after injury and he looked very comfortable there. He says that is his preferred position and I think he could do the same job as Alex Song, maybe even better. It’s worth a try, but does mean we really need to sign another CB and I think Mertesacker is just the monster we have been lacking in defence – just try to bully him about Bolton, Blackburn etc.
    Just got to emphasise that all this will be a waste of time if we do not sign a world class goalkeeper. Schwarzer would be short-term but do the job nicely for 2/3 years.

  25. tommystout says:

    thanks for that info peaches, i’d missed that post…
    i’m very much looking forward to seeing this guy play!

  26. Rasp says:

    That’s interesting from clockendjim,

    It would appear that JD is the most likely candidate for DM – makes perfect sense to me.

  27. Hi tommy, yes I agree with you, I’m beginning to think he must be a real Arsene find. Although its an undisclosed fee there was talk of £8m being spent on him – is that just to make us feel better about signing an unknown?

    Arsenal supporters were being rubbished on talksport yesterday evening – theres a surprise – for hoping that Koscienly would be another Vermaelen. Talksports take on it was that Vermaelen was the Ajax captain and had already played Champions Lge football before he came to us whereas Koscienly has little experience.

    Fingers crossed Koscienly can prove them wrong :roll:

  28. irishgunner says:

    Morning all.

    Tommy – I think you could be right. I like RvP in that he always wants to prove himself and I think if he takes the number 10 shirt, he’ll want to do it proud.

    Spain were good last night but they do lack a cutting edge, for all their passing they only really tested Neuer twice aside from the goal. On the goal, I blame this zonal marking thing – if it was man marking Puyol wouldn’t have been let free.

    Also what struck me, isn’t it amazing how a virtual whole international team can be made up of such unlikable characters?? Apart from Casillas and Iniesta they are very unlikable.

  29. chippy says:

    JDs natural position was a Dm thats where he played as a youth before Arsenal signed him,

    I believe when hes fit and playing the swiss sometimes still use him in that position hes got all the attributes to play that roll he just needs to stay fit and thats a big if,

  30. tommystout says:

    irish
    yeah they suck

  31. irishgunner says:

    And also can people stop looking for us to sign Melo – if Wenger does that I’ll cart him off to the mental hospital myself.

    He’s a terrible, terrible, awful player. Right up there with Busquets in terms of being terrible yet someone getting playing time.

  32. tommystout says:

    i believe wenger quoted 8.5m the other day peaches.

  33. irishgunner says:

    Can anyone explain it to me?

    I shouted for Spain in the Euros but now every time they play I hope they get humiliated. Is it the Barcelona effect?

  34. tommystout says:

    irish – you dont think we could do with a bit of melo meanstreak?
    i thought he was ok, not outstanding but i dont think for a second that we will sign him

  35. tommystout says:

    yes i can easily explain irish. – you have finally had enough of tappalona. when the players get involved in tapping thats too much to take.
    Hope robin bags a hatrick!

  36. tommystout says:

    and i hope cesc is on the bench

  37. Rasp says:

    Ramos is nearly as dirty as van Bommel

  38. irishgunner says:

    Tommy – I stand by my statement he is in absolutely no way better than Denilson. He passes sideways, intercepts and scores the very odd screamer. I wouldn’t insert meanstreak for stupidity – his yellow cards are done to stupidity. See how he raked his studs down Robben when things weren’t going his way? No thanks, for me anyway.

    It must be the Barcelona effect, your right. I never liked Madrid and now I want them to with La Liga next season with Mourinho. Jaysus I’m shouting for Madrid AND Mourinho – it must be bad!!!

    AW “Almunia is a talented goalkeeper. In training, he is superb, but he gets nervous on big matches, and makes silly mistakes.” – oh dear Arsene… get a big game goalkeeper then

  39. Have they added that nastiness to their game? I don’t remember them playing like that at the euros – maybe I was blinkered because they hadn’t won anything before and I wanted Cesc to do well.

    Tappolina is definitely part of the dislike though ;)

  40. irishgunner says:

    Rasp – van Bommel is a proper git, but having said that I look forward to his clashes with Biscuits…. Busquets!

  41. irishgunner says:

    Also – how rubbish were the officials again last night? Both sides had shouts for a penalty and HOW was it not a free-kick outside the box for Schweinsteiger near the end?

  42. Morning Irish – nice post. I’d love for Robin to play in the no 10, I always thought it was ridiculous that Gallas got it although I appreciate it was his favoured number.

  43. Rasp says:

    Hi irish, yea, van Bommel seems to be made of teflon in this tournament.

    peaches, are you going to explain to the Lorient blogger why he’s been named ‘kozzer’? – I think the Gasgoyne to gazzer is the best analogy.

  44. irishgunner says:

    Peaches – I agree, if Gallas wanted to wear that number he should have been a playmaker.

    Rasp – van Bommel is lucky he hasn’t been sent off ten times over. Here’s hoping his luck continues in the final :D

  45. goonermichael says:

    Hi Everyone
    I hope Robin gets a WC winners medal. I’d rather cesc didn’t.

  46. irishgunner says:

    Morning GM – I agree.

  47. Rasp says:

    Morning gm,

    I agree, not only because of Cesc but there are 7 barca players in the side and most have shot their mouth’s off about Cesc wanting away. I think RvP will need to up his game and be more attacking to have an influence on the final.

  48. I think Robin needs to have a good long look at the Jules Rimet and imagine holding it in his hot little hands and kissing it – but then I’m such a romantic :oops:

    Cesc on the other hand should realise that he’s hardly been influential in this tournament and really doesn’t even deserve a medal – how do you do those grrrr faces

  49. Rasp says:

    I can’t quite understand the vitriol that is being directed at Cesc on some sites. If he stays (which is more than likely) I’d hope he would have the full support of the fans.

  50. tommystout says:

    i think Robins link up play has been fine, he has ben very unselfish bringing his midfielders in to play. Up front on your own for the dutch is a little different from playing up front on your own for arsenal

  51. Oh no, Rasp I’m falling into that trap help me quickly…….I know, I’m going to find his goal against AC Milan, that should do the trick ;)

  52. tommystout says:

    rasp.
    i liked “avenel roads” blog on the cesc situation this morning – he is on a hiding to nothing as long as this world cup is on.
    he will have my full support if he stays but he needs to make a clear statement post worldcup if he does commit to us!

  53. Rasp says:

    tommy,

    I said the other day that I don’t think RvP is an out and out CF, he is a No.10 and is befitting of DB’s number. His link up play has been excellent, it wouldn’t surprise to me to see Chamakh play the advanced striker role in front of RvP.

  54. We really love you Cesc, please don’t go yet

  55. irishgunner says:

    Rasp – he will, but he’s not helping himself looking all moody and like a bold child. All he has to do is say “I hope to play for Barcelona in the future but for now, I am committed to Arsenal” – its not a hard thing to do.

  56. Rasp says:

    irish,

    I’m sure if the day comes when he is certain that we aren’t going to sell him/Barca aren’t prepared to pay, he will make such a statement. At the moment, I don’t suppose he knows what is going on and is focused on the WC final. He doesn’t look happy on the Spanish bench which I think is more telling.

  57. goonermichael says:

    I don’t love him anymore Peaches. He’s broken my heart :)

  58. Rasp says:

    By the way irish, what’s a BFF?

  59. goonermichael says:

    He actually made a statement recently saying he “might not” leave Arsenal. He better not be captain anymore

  60. goonermichael says:

    I’ve got next week off. Is anyone thinking of going to Crawley? Will any first teamers play I wonder?

  61. irishgunner says:

    Rasp – Best Friend Forever :D

  62. GhostFace says:

    London says:
    July 8, 2010 at 9:03 am
    Ghost Face

    You should know better by now. Let’s go through some of the nobodies that Wenger has bought. Vermaelen, Sagna, Eduardo, Ramsey, Anelka, Henry oh and I think there was a player from Senegal….can’t remembers his name though he was playing for a second division French club two seasons before he joined us. The point is you do not even have a clue how good Koscielny is and yet you are slagging off the club you claim to support for buying him. You are exactly the kind of person that would have said if we had bought either Odzil, Muller or Freidrich before the world cup that Arsenal were showing no ambition.

    ———————

    1. Ozil is German. And ive been clamoring for the signing of Ozil since he tore England a fresh arsehole in the World cup U-21 almost single handedly.

    2. Muller plays for Bayern Munich. Hardly and unknown since he played on the same team Ozil played that Tore England the fresh arsehole. Same with Fredrich.

    3. Please dont lecture me on the “unknown signings” that just so happn to work out. For every Anelka’s you mention I can give you an Amoury Bischoff.

    4. And just how many of these “uknown players” that Arsene signed went straight into the first team in the first season? Henry? Ramsey? Eduardo?
    Vermaelen maybe…but why hasnt our defense improved?

    5. Arsenal are showing no ambition.

  63. dandan says:

    Afternoon all…..gives Irish huge hug for making sure that Brazil nut Melo doesn’t wear our shirt he is not worthy,INHO Denilson is far superior.
    Also I will be gobsmacked if AW doesn’t buy another CB probably Serdar Tesci from Stuttgart he like Our new Kozza is of Polish stock and I see them settling in well together.
    The big fellow last night had a reasonable game but maybe lacks a bit of pace, JD will give Aw options in midfield, while Tesci can also play right back. I also am sure a GK will come in and the show will be well and truly on the road.
    Rasp wil give me back the deeds to my house and peaches will find that Cesc loves all things Arsenal as much as she does at least for another season.
    And hot from the press London is gonna smile at Barnet. Happy days are here again

  64. GhostFace says:

    And my original point had nothing to do with signing uknown players.

    Just the point that Rasp made which clearly sounds ridiculous.

    Arsenal are a big club. Big clubs will always have a rich Oil Arab sugar daddy or an African/Russian Billionaire to take over.

    The notion that other big clubs would have to start buying unknowns as a blue print for success its just laughable.

    Because its a blue print for success right?

    Arsenal have been successful? No?

  65. Rasp says:

    Afternoon dandan,

    Nice to hear you in such good spirits again.

    I like the look of Tesci, but is there any evidence that we are interested in him?

  66. SharkeySure says:

    “Just so happen to work out”..?? Lol.

    You really don’t think that Arsene has an eye for a player…??

    There’s been quite a lot of demand for some of Arsene’s finds in recent years.

    Look no further than the buy/sell prices on Kolo and AdeNuff.

  67. irishgunner says:

    Dandan – Glad we agree on Melo.

    Ghostface – Are you one of those that claim everyone Wenger finds he should have but then if Ferguson signs an “unknown” he’s a genius?

  68. irishgunner says:

    My favourite one in relation to Wenger not having an eye for talent is a certain blogger on another channel who reckons he spotted Henry at Juventus before Wenger did and knew he’d make it :lol:

    Now, now who was manager at Monaco when Henry got his chance as a teenager?? Some French manager, can’t think of his name….Arnold? Andy? Arsene something of other

  69. GhostFace says:

    Irish – What sort of question is that? And who’s bringing Fergie into the argument?

    SS

    Im not saying Arsene doesnt have an eye for a player. But signing a player who’s played most of his ball at 2nd tier french league is a massive massive gamble. And for that price? (10m) How many more proven defenders could we have signed?

    re: Melo

    Its interesting that if Denilson is better than him he didnt make the starting 30 for the World cup.

    And I seem to remember a certain Senegalese nutter that kept getting sent off. But yet Melo isnt good enough.

  70. irishgunner says:

    ” Arsenal are a big club. Big clubs will always have a rich Oil Arab sugar daddy or an African/Russian Billionaire to take over.” – Yep, they are falling over themselves to buy Liverpool aren’t they?!

  71. dandan says:

    I listened to a very early sports programme on my Internet Radio a couple of days ago and they were saying that AW was having Tesci scouted and was very interested because of the German Polish connection, it would make it easier for both to settle in,

    So you takes your money Rasp we will see.

    HI ghost Nice to see you have returned as your normal affable self mate.

  72. Rasp says:

    Hi GF,

    Thanks for comimg on again, and don’t forget the open offer to air your views in a headline post.

    I’ve lost the thread of the discussion, which of my points ‘clearly sounds ridiculous’ ?

  73. irishgunner says:

    Ghostface – Its an obvious question and of course its obvious to bring in a rival manager.

    Its also interesting that Busquets gets a game when Cesc is on the bench. Sometimes shite gets to play.

  74. GhostFace says:

    Irish

    Are you doubting Liverpool wont find an owner soon?

    Or are you forgetting the group of helplessly rich Mancs that cant wait to splash the cash to get rid of their “american” problem?

  75. GhostFace says:

    Dandan, Rasp, Irish, SS,

    Great morning to you all,

    Im just not happy that with all the money in the World. Arsenal FC still refuse to buy proven quality.

  76. irishgunner says:

    Yes I am.

    Surely a club with that much history and fame around the World should have been bought out by now? I’m not doubting that people want to buy it, but they don’t want to but it enough that they are willing to argue too much with the current Yank owners. A lot have walked away.

  77. irishgunner says:

    Ghostface – That is fair enough, we’d all love to see more Arshavin’s come in. Believe you and me, I’ll be mouthing off if Koscielny doesn’t work out but I want to give the lad a chance first.

    Francis Jeffers was proven quality, wasn’t he? :lol:

  78. Rasp says:

    GF,

    Of course I’d love it if Arsenal were in a position to splash out £30+m on a player. But we’ve got a mortgage to pay on the ground, various debts that we are coping with and a pretty hefty wage bill.

    Most of the working men and women of europe are in for several hard years financially speaking (Greece, Spain, Portugal, Turkey etc etc) and football won’t be immune from the effect of that. We’ve come this far with clever juggling of players and finances, we can’t just abandon that strategy when there is no guarantee that current level of revenue will continue.

  79. GhostFace says:

    Liverpool is a different situation.

    Clearly the owners dont know what the hell their doing. One minute the club is for sale…the next minute its not.

    And its their dilly dallying thats brought them where they are.

    No reason to compare the Liverpool with us.

    All we do is post record profits.

  80. dandan says:

    Ghost face All that Glisters is not gold as the man said. Proven quality is not as important as team suitability… We will see if Far Eastlands build an Oasis of quality or a nomads encampment with all the money they are spending, either is possible. When only money is the criteria look for quality and find a mercenary perhaps… we shall see.

  81. GhostFace says:

    Rasp

    Im sick and tired of the financial debate.

    We built a World Class stadium to make us record profits not to keep us forever in a financial hole

    The stadium is doing its job ffs. Which is to make us record profits every single season since we’ve moved into it! 30m is nothing!

  82. SharkeySure says:

    GF – Every signings a gamble !!!

    Do you think its more of a gamble paying c€10m for someone who’s shooting up thru the leagues at a young age, than it is to splash £20-30m on a ‘proven’ player who’s maybe 27-28 and might well only be thinking about their pension.

    Premiership history is littered with ‘proven stars’ who only chased the good old GBP.

    €10m won’t get you Gary Cahill, Smalling was £8-10m with hardly a Pl start to his name.

  83. GhostFace says:

    Dandan

    Are you doubting City are a threat? Just barely missing out on CL in the first season with 2 absolute hapless gutter shite managers?

    Add that to the fact they still have Robinho and would prob sack Mancinni very soon.

    Scary thought.

    I agree with you re:Mercenaries. And i wouldnt like to see them at the Club.

    Which is why i laugh everytime someone mentions they want Flamini back.

  84. irishgunner says:

    GF – You have to compare us to other top clubs. Who can we be compared to then?

  85. SharkeySure says:

    £30m is nothing…lol

    It is if you waste it on someone like Shevchenko or Robinho who then costs another £30m+ in wages over his five year contract.

    He strolls about for his new employers for 18mths, then is loaned back to his old club who contribute no more than 25-30% of his fat new salary.

    Not exactly the way to go is it..??

  86. GhostFace says:

    Sharkey

    10m wouldnt get you an English CB agreed.

    I dont get what your point is…that signing someone with experience at the top level is no less a gamble than signing someone with virtually zero experience and has only played 1 full season for a team that didnt even qualify for Europe?

  87. GhostFace says:

    Irish why are we comparing our club to other clubs?

    Its like Arsene always says…”we concentrate on our game”

  88. GhostFace says:

    Not even Vidic cost 10m. Thank God the World is bigger than England. Yea?

  89. irishgunner says:

    Well you have to compare and contrast. You, whether you realise it or not, are comparing our spending to other clubs are you not?

  90. GhostFace says:

    Not necessarily. I dont see why we have to compare. If a quality players is available and we have the money why not spend it on long term projects instead of Silvestre and Sol?

  91. Rasp says:

    GF, surely the example of Vidic can be compared directly to Koscielny. If we do our research and identify players in the £10-15m bracket that turn out to be a success then we can call that good business. There are no guarantees however much you pay for a player.

  92. goonermichael says:

    how much did Robinho cost.? That was a shrewd piece of business

  93. irishgunner says:

    Maybe Koscielny is quality??

    No everyone starts at the top… We could have spent that £10mil on,say, Melo and did realise all too late he’s just a tad overrated 8)

  94. ArseChicago says:

    Whether it’s 8 or 10 million, it doesn’t seem unreasonable for a young centre back who by most reports was one of the best players overall for a team in the top 7 in Ligue 1, a very good league. I know nothing much of Koscielny, but I’d take him over the CBs Capello trotted out there. Have to believe Kos is hungry to prove himself.

    As for signings, I’ve been studying Arsenal’s finances for years and with 100MM cash on the balance sheet (albeit 30MM or so is restricted per the stadium mortgage agreement), and with effectively the only debt being the mortgage, now that Highbury Square is paid off, Arsenal could certainly splurge on a 25MM purchase. Obviously buying a player also creates a wage expense, but we’ve already shed some decent expense this offseason and could offload more. A simple way to look at it is if Arsenal can sell a player for 25MM (Adebayor), why can’t it buy a player for like amount? It’s undeniable the point made here that spending this amount doesn’t ensure the player works out, but in lieu of trophies that haven’t come the last five years, landing one of the top transfers of the offseason would greatly excite the fan base and the players in the locker room, and it would make a strong statement to the football world that we’re still to be considered among the giants. Obviously, these more intangible reasons can’t be the sole consideration for parting with that kind of cash; the guy has to be a player. I’m just saying bagging the likes of an Ozil or Benzema would be a huge shot in the arm at the Emirates and I would very much welcome it without fear of any deleterious effects on the balance sheet.

  95. Rasp says:

    Hi ArseChicago, good to have you on.

    I believe the money we got for Ade and Kolo was added to the £96m from last season to bump it up to £130m and was used to pay off money owed on the Highbury development recently. We are now more on the level with our finances and I think we will cautiously begin to spend more money on players.

  96. irishgunner says:

    Hasn’t our outgoings and incomings on transfers not been pretty even?

    (Not saying I’m right, just wondering)

  97. dandan says:

    There was a young lady from limerick,
    With a temper remarkably quick?
    She loved her football, supported Arsenal
    And her loyalty to them new no bounds

    One day on a date with a prospective mate.
    Their talk turned to passion, but wait
    Consumed by his lust he told her in trust.
    I’m a spud, and Met an orrible fate

  98. irishgunner says:

    :lol: Dandan, you know me too well.

  99. London says:

    Ghost Face

    Your naivety is staggering; I have a twelve year old who has a greater understanding of the business world than you do.

    It’s quite sweet, in 5 year old kind of way, that you think “Arsenal have all the money in the world” but sadly we don’t. There is a pecking order, and we have to wait our turn.

    As far as Arsenal are concerned there is no such thing as an asking price for a player anymore, gone are the days when we could identify a player and simply pay for him, if this were to happen now the first thing the selling club would do is contact City to ask if they want to make an improved bid.

    The result being that we have to find a different way to sign someone with the talent of Vidic because if he came on the market we sure as hell would be out bid. So what is the solution? Sign someone that you hope will turn into the next Vidic and in Koscielny I hope we have.

    PS. I use Vidic as the example because that is the kind of CB I would personally like to see playing next to Vermaelen, replace his name with any other that suits you — the message will still be the same.

  100. ArseChicago says:

    On a more fun note, I’m wrestling over the decision as to whose name and number to put on back of the new kit. At this point, I’ve narrowed it to RvP, Song, Wilshere and Ramsey. As much as I’d like to include Cesc and AA in the mix, well, we know the issues there. Should I wait for the rest of the new signings? Then again, I do fear I’m a jinx somewhat. My last kit top had Clichy’s name as I thought it would make me run faster. Sadly, the last two years have been a tad rocky for the lad, though I was very encouraged by his return to form at the end of last season.

  101. London says:

    Hi Irish

    Do you have any idea how old this is?

    AW “Almunia is a talented goalkeeper. In training, he is superb, but he gets nervous on big matches, and makes silly mistakes.” – oh dear Arsene… get a big game goalkeeper then

  102. irishgunner says:

    ArseChicago – LOL, I think I jinx players too when I get them put on shirts.

    London – Not sure, I just saw it on World of Arsenal. I’ll go see if I can find out when he said it.

  103. SharkeySure says:

    “A simple way to look at it is if Arsenal can sell a player for 25MM (Adebayor), why can’t it buy a player for like amount?”

    I love that argument…NOT. At least its not quite as silly as the ‘if you are prepared to sell players for more than they are worth you should happily buy on the same basis’.

    GM. Too right about Robinho, he’s at the head of a long list of similar players ‘of proven quality’.

    GF – my point is that ALL signings are a gamble, and none provide any guarantees ! Kozzer is no different in that respect

  104. irishgunner says:

    Speaking to Kenya newspaper The Standard, the Arsenal manager said: “Manuel Almunia is a talented goalkeeper. In training, he is superb, the only problem is that he gets nervous on big matches, thereby making silly mistakes. After the World Cup, we will be making an announcement on goalkeeping.”

    That’s the whole quote that is on Sky Sports and other various websites today, London.

    Also:

    Fabregas
    Speculation continues as to whether captain Cesc Fabregas, part of the Spain squad which has reached Sunday’s World Cup final, will be at Arsenal when the new season kicks off.

    Barcelona have targeted the midfielder but Arsenal have already rejected one bid in the region of £30million.

    Barca have stated they will not pay £50million for Fabregas and Wenger insisted: “I do not see him leaving soon.”

  105. ArseChicago says:

    SS, tough to say you don’t have 25MM when a team gives you 25MM.

  106. ArseChicago says:

    SS, also do you assume that no player is worth 25MM? I think Bayern paid 25MM euros for Ribery a few years ago. Whether or not you think he’s lived up to that potential on the pitch, they could’ve doubled their money selling him on; not sure why they didn’t. We all knew Ade wasn’t worth the 25MM City paid us for him. That doesn’t mean we couldn’t go find a player that was worth 25MM.

  107. ArseChicago says:

    Case in point, Lyon sells off Benzema for a huge payday. Goes out and buys Lopez for 24MM euros and Lopez had a terrific year. Lyon’s not Real Madrid or Barca, but they seemed to get good value for their 24MM.

  108. dandan says:

    Yes but AC what did we pay for Le Sulk and he sold for 23million. Players are worth what people will pay for them, that doesn’t mean they are worth it. just that the Arrys of this world don’t care as long as it is someone else’s money they are spending. Same applies to city. But surely there has to be some kind of morality in life and football is part of life.
    Why throw principles out the window just because it is not your money.

  109. SharkeySure says:

    ArseC.

    Thats wholly different from believing a player is worth £10m then merrily paying £13-14m for him just cos the seller tells you that you should.

    Look at Chyrgrynsky(sp?, sold last year to Barca for €25m and sold back to same club for €15m one year later. Its all about what you are prepared to pay or accept.

  110. London says:

    Irish

    That is some comment and if true the first time ever that he has critised an individual player in public……The kenya Standard hmmmmmmm

  111. SharkeySure says:

    No problem with them buying Lopez if they always thought he was worth €24m.

    Different case if they were quoted say €21m three months earlier, and then suddenly the price jumped just cos the seller knows that Lyon are now ‘in the money’ after Benz’s departure.

  112. irishgunner says:

    London – That’s what I thought when I read it too. The Kenya Standard seems very obscure. I suppose we don’t have long to wait to see how true it is.

  113. SharkeySure says:

    Here’s hoping its true then London.

    It can hardly lead to an annoucement that Almunia will be our number 1 next year can it.

  114. London – I’m with you on the Kenya Standard hmmmmmmmmm, I saw it this morning and thought ‘Nah Arsene did not actually say those words to a reporter on the Kenya Standard’

  115. charybdis1966 says:

    Hi all, on Arse.com they’ve just dis credited that interview supposedly given by Wenger to a Kenyan newspaper.
    Did sound like a very un-Wenger like interview.

  116. SharkeySure says:

    London,

    Have you read the mad ramblings of ‘The Wizard of Oz’ today…??

    Shocking stuff – even by his own low standards. I don’t quite know how he manages to hit so many low notes every day.

    His refusal to use more than one full stop per every 300 words is just plain ridiculous now!!!

  117. SharkeySure says:

    Chary …thats a real shame !

  118. What a lot of supporters can’t get their head around is that Arsene won’t pay over the odds for a player even if he wants to buy him and he has the money to buy him.

    Case in point : Sean Wright Phillips, deal done for £11m and then the chavs come in with an obscene amount of money and citeh take it. Did the boys career a lot of good didn’t it? Bet Benzema wishes he hadn’t gone to Real Madrid……….

  119. charybdis1966 says:

    Yeah S Sure, it looks like we’re gonna keep Clown & Flappy after all then, sob !

  120. irishgunner says:

    :lol:

    Even the hacks in Kenya are at us.

  121. irishgunner says:

    ” WENGER: You are welcome. I would prefer you call me Arsene, not Sir because I’m a professor, not Sir. (Referring to Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson).” – Ah, COME ON, they didn’t know this wasn’t a fake :lol:

  122. London says:

    Irish, I would like to try and answer your last point. If you are in the mood give this a read, especially the bit after the picture.

    http://arsenalarsenal.wordpress.com/2010/06/10/cesc-has-done-nothing-to-be-ashamed-of/

    irishgunner says:
    July 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm (Edit)

    Rasp – he will, but he’s not helping himself looking all moody and like a bold child. All he has to do is say “I hope to play for Barcelona in the future but for now, I am committed to Arsenal” – its not a hard thing to do.

  123. irishgunner says:

    London – yep, I read that before but at the risk of embarrassing the males here, I’m not “feeling well”, thus hormonal and thus lashing out today. I’ll be alright again tomorrow, if you get me ;)

  124. Rasp says:

    This, however is taken from arsenal.com and not the rumours section……

    “Wenger – We’re still on market for a defender

    By Richard Clarke

    Arsène Wenger is still looking for a defender, despite having just completed a deal to sign Laurent Koscielny.”

    http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/wenger-we-re-still-on-market-for-a-defender

  125. Ok, I volunteer to take the note to Cesc telling him what he has to say ……….. can I start packing now, I’ll take it to his hotel in South Africa :P

  126. dandan says:

    Irish they have others things to think about…. give him some slack…. lets see what happens when the final is over and the press chase him wherever the poor bugger goes on holiday

  127. London says:

    Sharkey

    I did read it, and as you say even by his own low standards today was looooooow. What I find even more shocking is how so many of them follow blindly what he says…….if anyone was in any doubt how the Hitler youth started, look no further for an example: identify a victim, vilify him over and over again while snuffing out any contrary view — very, very scary.

  128. London says:

    Loud and clear Irish.

  129. irishgunner says:

    Who is the “Wizard of Oz?”

    London – Cesc is still my profile pic on Bleacher Report. He’s staying, hell I’d be unhappy if I was sitting on the bench and Biscuits was in the team ahead of me.

  130. dandan says:

    Some people get a rush slagging people off for no reason, London plus its a hot and humid day, people are fed up.

  131. irishgunner says:

    :lol: I think I know who ye mean

  132. SharkeySure says:

    Hitler Youth – brilliant !!!

    Maybe the Wizard will reveal in time that it was a scientific experiment in cult building.

    Jim Jones..??

  133. SharkeySure says:

    Chary. I pray it doesn’t mean that, re GK’s. Surely our interest in Schwarzer is very clear now.

  134. Ahem London and Sharkey – either follow the rules of the site please or take yourselves off behind the bicycle shed to have a private chat.

  135. dandan says:

    Peaches I am behind the bike shed where are you.

  136. irishgunner says:

    ” take yourselves off behind the bicycle shed to have a private chat.” :lol:

  137. charybdis1966 says:

    I suppose it leaves where we were this morning S Sure regarding our likelihood of getting shot of Clown & Flappy. While this “Kenyan Standard” story was still assumed to be true it increased our chances of a new goalie.
    Oh well, back to square one.

  138. irishgunner says:

    Peaches – first it was hotel rooms with Cesc, now its behind the bike shed… well, we all know where your mind is at today ;)

  139. ArseChicago says:

    Sorry, I had to take the train into work, but to conclude my earlier thought, I concede that not everyone that is bought for 25MM is worth 25MM (to your examples, the Dmitri cat whose last name I won’t try to spell who cost Barca some cash last year, etc). However, there are some players who actually have proven to be worth such sums. All I’m saying is that I hope there’s not some artificial ceiling, say 20MM pounds, in place in terms of how Arsene values players. Why? Because I think the club has the cash to buy someone for 25-30MM at some point if not now and because some players that sold for that much actually do prove to be worth that much if not more (Fernando Torres, Franck Ribery, Rio Ferdinand, etc.). And it’s not like that money has to be out the door forever. That player might hold that value after 3 or 4 years, maybe even have a greater value after that time. Worst case, maybe you recover 50-70% of the initial transfer fee.

    If I had to have a manager to decide which player to buy for that lofty of an amount, it’d be Arsene. I just hope he doesn’t have total objection against buying someone for more than 20MM just because there’s a ’2′ handle on the valuation.

  140. Rasp says:

    Hi again AC,

    Since it has been officially announced that we are in the market for another defender, it will be interesting to test your theory on whoever we buy. Perhaps a judgement should be made at the start of the season when we are unsure of the ‘quality’ and again at the end after we’ve had a good chance to see the individual perform.

  141. I think, ArseChicago, that you’ve answered your own question there and London alluded to the reasoning a bit earlier. If Arsene wanted to buy a player that was £25-£30m the chances are that other big clubs would want them too and the price would get pushed through the roof.

    I agree that as an investment they may still enhance their value playing for us for a couple of years but they also may not and Arsene and the board would feel its not worth the risk – better to uncover a diamond for £12m and sell him for £25m 2-3 years later.

  142. SharkeySure says:

    I conker Peaches, OK concur, if you want to be picky.

    You really cannot buy too many players above a certain price without a bidding war starting.

    So yeah ArseC that might technicaly constitute a ‘ceiling’ for all intents and purposes.

    Times are a changing though, and the lack of big money moves is clearly evident at the moment.

    None of the last 3 big sales have been for mega amounts – Silva, Yaya, and Villa. Decent money yes, but not the mega transfers pushed up by competing purchasers that we’re used to seeing.

    There just aren’t too many big spenders left.

  143. London says:

    Seeing as I am in a picky and pedantic mood today, is there any real reason to believe that Wenger has actually said we are in the market for another defender apart from Sky having announced it?

  144. irishgunner says:

    London – Its reported on Arsenal.com that AW said he was looking at another defensive player.

  145. kelsey says:

    Hi,

    OK, I won’t write about Spain’s economy, but it is quite interesting that several posters shy away from the finances regarding their own clubs, whilst other complain that the cost of going to a match at some clubs, notably my own club,has increased dramatically and therefore they demand that paying more, they are entitled to silverware. Unfortunately,It just doesn’t work like that if they want to remain solvent.The paying fan has the choice to attend or not to.The trouble is when one has had a reasonable amount of success in the PL,the expectations of the fans get higher, until someone else comes along and basically can outbid any other teams if they really want a player.Not an easy job being a manager these days, contracts are worthless, and loyalty is a word of the past.

  146. London says:

    Irish

    Now that is how you cheer a boy up.

  147. SharkeySure says:

    Defensive = GK or Def!

  148. London says:

    Great comment Kelsey

    We both know where that comment should also be posted but it would be binned for being too rational.

    Ok Peaches, I will stop now, well, for today any way.

  149. Rasp says:

    London, yes, we are officially in the market (actually it says ‘on market’) for another defender. I put the link up @ 3:39

  150. ArseChicago says:

    Well, last comment on the spending thing, I guess if we were to buy someone for 25MM, this offseason wouldn’t be a terrible time. I’m convinced it’s only a matter of time before City cracks the top 4, but since they’re outside of it now, it does help in competing against City for talent to say you’re in the Champs League, as Arsenal are. Additionally, I’m convinced that Barca are strapped and not sure Real Madrid is far behind them. United, despite what they might publicly say, are in bad financial shape and will have to unload the likes of Berbatov to fund any major purchase. So while it’s true that big clubs would likely, too, be interested in someone we’re looking at buying for 25MM, those big clubs (other than Chelsea) are in worse shape financially to compete against us than they were 3-5 years ago.

    Anyway, I’m convinced there will be some interesting moves done by Arsenal over the coming weeks.

  151. SharkeySure says:

    London – we’ll have to start using acronyms to get past Peaches…

    WoZ and HY..??

  152. irishgunner says:

    Glad to be of service London :)

    Wenger has a trio of veteran centre backs out of contract – William Gallas, Sol Campbell and Mikael Silvestre. Their futures are not yet known so their manager is on the look-out.

    “We identified Koscielny as a very, very strong centre half,” he told Arsenal.com.

    “He can be an outstanding addition to our team. But it is not over, we are still open to buy.

    “We are still on the market for another defensive player because we have the need for one more.”

  153. Rasp says:

    kelsey, we want you to write about Spain’s economy, specifically relating to football …. in a headline post!

  154. irishgunner says:

    ” Not an easy job being a manager these days, contracts are worthless, and loyalty is a word of the past.”

    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/417213-youth-star-dan-gosling-exposes-transfer-loop-hole-to-leave-everton

    Just to somewhat illustrate your point Kelsey

  155. London says:

    Sharkey

    WoZ Lol

  156. dandan says:

    Evening Kelsey, very nicely put, I found the whole subject of buying players fascinating, even more fascinating is the inability of so many fans to grasp the rudiments of the crap that most clubs are in.

    If we had got Ferdinand for £30mil would he be 3 times better than our own new CB. or if that is a daft question how are the differentials calculated

  157. SharkeySure says:

    Following on from DanDan – Just for a laugh, assume you are allowed to play unlimited defenders per team, would you buy one Ferdy or three Verms.

  158. dandan says:

    From the official Arsenal Site

    “Arsenal Football Club would like to clarify that quotes attributed to Arsène Wenger today in a Kenyan newspaper are not correct. Arsène Wenger did not grant a one-on-one interview to the newspaper and have kindly asked all media not to attribute any quotes from this source to him.”

  159. SharkeySure says:

    Lorik Cana off to Galatasaray !

  160. M C auley says:

    i think that if we got mesut ozil, jagielka and llorris we could win something even if cesc leaves.

  161. Wow, Howard Webb has got the World Cup final!!!!!!

  162. kelsey says:

    Freddie Starr in our defence would be awesome.A bit porky nowadays but would have the opposition rolling over in stitches :)

  163. Hello kelsey – are you avoiding me ;)

  164. kelsey says:

    OK, peaches but it won’t be done until about 10.a.m. in drafts or to you.

    Just off to see Lucas murder Denise.

  165. M C auley says:

    and its arsenal, arsenal f.c theyre by far the greatest team the world has ever seen

  166. SharkeySure says:

    Well said ‘Culkin’, amongst all the bitching and moaning in blog world we don’t hear that sort of thing enough

  167. Hi M C auley – I’m looking forward to singing that song very soon :)

    In drafts is fine – could you try for 9.00 so that we can play with it if we need to, pretty please xxx

  168. M C auley says:

    cesc will stay.i will make sure of it. :)

  169. GhostFace says:

    London says:
    July 8, 2010 at 2:30 pm
    Ghost Face

    Your naivety is staggering; I have a twelve year old who has a greater understanding of the business world than you do.

    ————

    *yawn*

    The next time you want to start an argument with an insult I will stop coming on this site and stop responding to you period.

    Now on to read the rest of the shite youve written

  170. GhostFace says:

    If this were to happen now the first thing the selling club would do is contact City to ask if they want to make an improved bid

    ———-

    Why did we pay 10m for a nobody who’s played most of his football for the 2nd tier french division.

    Because Lorient offered him to City first?

    LOL!!!

    Hahahaaha… Aww…London. Apologies for the spikey post above.

    I didnt know you were a comedian.

  171. GhostFace says:

    If this were to happen now the first thing the selling club would do is contact City to ask if they want to make an improved bid

    —————

    Ok now that ive calmed down and ive had my laugh.

    Where do you get this stuff from?

    Honestly. Seriously. What instance were we in for a player and the player was offered to City to up the bid.

    I think you should join Walcott and write children’s book becuase clearly you are gifted in fabricating stuff.

    If a player wants to come to Arsenal he is coming to Arsenal. Simple as that. City or no City.

    Furthermore…you do realize that Every Club has to adhere to the 25 man roster limit. Right?

    So youre saying we cant afford to go for any X amount of players because City will sign em up before we’ve had a chance. That again. Is Fabricated Rubbish that you pulled out from the cosmic dust in the air. It hasnt happened and you have no proof.

    It may have happend in the past with Chelsea but even Wenger has admitted we have more money now to compete with Chelsea.

    So either your 12 year old is smarter than you are. Or you should seriously consider sticking to writing childrens books.

  172. GhostFace says:

    PS. I use Vidic as the example because that is the kind of CB I would personally like to see playing next to Vermaelen, replace his name with any other that suits you — the message will still be the same.

    ————

    First of all you went about blabbing about the sorta fan I am to say if Wenger signed Ozil before the World Cup i would be slagging off Wenger now that we’ve sorted out that bile of dirt…

    Let me ask you this.

    How much did Vidic cost?

    And how come Chelsea or City didnt outbid Utd for him?

  173. London says:

    Morning Ghost Face

    Wow, you really don’t get it do you; I am going to have to put this in even more simplistic language than I realised but before I do I want to make sure we have one thing clear: this is not my site so if I start, as you say above, a comment with an insult it is a reflection of my view on how you choose to support Arsenal and not that of the people behind the scenes who put a lot of hard work into making this site run as well as it does.

  174. London and Ghostface – why don’t you try debating with each other without resorting to insults and however annoying it might be if you can’t convince the other of your standpoint move on.

  175. Rasp says:

    New post ……

  176. London says:

    Peaches

    Why don’t you just let us get on with it?

  177. GhostFace says:

    You start throwing dirt…it will get ugly quick. And putting it in simpler terms? You mean making yourself look more stupid than you already have?

    Please do feel free :)

  178. [...] irishgunner пишет: It is if you waste it on someone like Shevchenko or Robinho who then costs another £30m+ in wages over his five year contract. He strolls about for his new employers for 18mths, then is loaned back to his old club who contribute no more …. The result being that we have to find a different way to sign someone with the talent of Vidic because if he came on the market we sure as hell would be out bid. So what is the solution? Sign someone that you hope will turn into the … [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

