Saint Ryan slain by Satanic Frenchman – and Aarons Road to Recovery

Three days on since the events at the Britannia and the debate rages on as to who is the villain and who is the victim. As any Gooner could have predicted, having the experience of Dan Smith and Martin Taylor’s interventions on our players (“Tiny” Taylor’s being especially unequivocal) to draw on, it would take very little time for it to be established by the agenda-driven media hog-pack that the victim was the leg breaker and the villain the manager of the leg breakee.

Chief peddlers of Arsenal hating utter crap being the paragon of virtue Stanley Victor Collymore ably aided and abetted by the likes of Puliss, Lou Macari, Derek McGovern and other sub-species of pond life however this is was not the first thing that occurred to me as soon as I heard of the completion of our grisly hat-trick of leg snaps.

Our young welsh mid-fielder has a long road of rehabilitation in front of him and having been in the position of recovering from major surgery I can empathise with what he will go through in the next six to nine months.

Exactly five years ago I was given what in medical parlance is called a “Cabbage”, a Cardiac Artery Bypass Graft – major surgery of a different quality to that of repairing a double leg break but both instances involve a long period of rehabilitation. In my case it was a solo effort and while Aaron will have a big medical team around him ultimately he will feel equally alone while he works his way back to fitness via hours and hours of rehabilitative exercises and therapies.

Initially major surgery results in a loss of confidence in a number of ways – you may feel too weak to want to exert yourself in any way or to test the part of you that was broken. The doctors can assure that it is acceptable to walk with your repaired leg or, in my case, put weight on you chest, but this loss of confidence meant I would fall asleep on my back for months as I subconsciously felt my chest would cave in.

Everyone will react to post operative trauma differently and perhaps Rambo will have no such fears but the loneliness of training on his own, when he would be with the rest of the squad normally, will be a different challenge that he has to face.

“I am lost to the world

with which I used to waste so much time,

It has heard nothing from me for so long

that it may very well believe that I am dead!

It is of no consequence to me

Whether it thinks me dead;

I cannot deny it,

for I really am dead to the world.

I am dead to the world’s tumult,

And I rest in a quiet realm!”

Based on a text in German by Friedrich Rückert (1788-1866)

I apologise to any students of German poetry but I thought of the above quote when I read comments questioning the wisdom of presenting Eduardo to the crowd at Ashburton Grove as he made his long slow painful recovery to fitness. I was there to see our Crozillian palpably moved by the crowd’s reaction and to my mind that is the type of encouragement that a player needs when he is training alone for long periods. To feel he is still part of the team, the squad and the larger Gooner diaspora is vital and so the same approach is needed for Rambo. When my two sons ran up to my bed in the ward a few days after my chest “cut and shut” it was a lift to the spirits similar to that Aaron will get when he takes his first steps on crutches onto the turf of the Grove.

We can all play some part in getting Aaron’s rehab off to the start it deserves, those of us lucky enough to be going to see the Burnley game can by singing his name out loud and make sure it’s sung every game till he’s back so he knows he’s not been forgotten.

There is the fear that Rambo will never be the same, as Diaby and Eduardo have suffered from a series of niggling injuries un related to the leg breaks but significant enough to hinder their progress. Time will tell just how well these three players of ours recover their abilities, skill and confidence on the pitch.

Sadly, going back to Saturday at the Potteries, we know this could all have been avoided had referee Walton applied the rules regarding dangerous and reckless play, however would we then have got the galvanising effect, admittedly at a potentially unacceptable cost to a teenagers career, on team spirit that resulted?

And that, as they say, is the hell of it.

By Charybdis1966

140 Responses to Saint Ryan slain by Satanic Frenchman – and Aarons Road to Recovery

  1. Morning all

    Todays post is by Guest Writer Chary.

    Great read chary, it’ll be interesting to see how much time Aaron spends with the team during his recuperation. Eduardo spent time in Brazil and Robin always goes back to Holland.

  2. charybdis1966 says:

    Morning Peachy – hey, I love what you did with the headline, it’s miles better than my feeble effort for a title! It’s a tiny bit of redressing the balance on the way the media are portraying this whole episode. It’s been waaa-aaay too much biased in favour of the cloggers and their acolytes.

  3. Monkey says:

    Good post. I can’t help but think that Ramsey’s situation will be very different from Edu and Abou’s.

    Ramsey has the huge huge advantage of being a native of this country. I can’t imagine how terrifying everything must have been for Diaby and Eduardo when they barely understood what was being said to them.

    Rehabilitating in a foreign country etc.

    And Ramsey just seems a little bit gutsier than Eduardo too. My feeling is that we will see him by December.

  4. Monkey says:

    And wasn’t it about this time that Pires did his cruciate ligaments hurdling the tackle against Newcastle?

    These kinds of things can spur teams onto the title.

    10 games to become legends.

  5. charybdis1966 says:

    Yes Monkey, Rambo does have the advantage of being a Brit recuperating here, but it’s his youth that can make things different for him. I’m hoping his upbeat persona and youthful exuberance will make his recovery less fraught than Eddy’s. To have him back for Xmas would be nothing less than he, and we, deserve.

  6. Rasputin says:

    Morning all,

    Excellent stylish post chary – I think you should have a weekly spot 😛

  7. dandan says:

    Great post chary. Nothng lifts people more than to think they are missed and appreciated, yes and in a weird kind of way loved, the warmth of the Arsenal family can have a healing effect in many ways.

    Young Arron will be back and will fullfill his destiny in the red and white in front of the thousands who’s one wish is that his day is sooner rather than later

  8. Morning Monkey – I was thinking myself the other day about when Pires got his knee injury and how the team were going to have to finish the season without him and how they honoured him when he went to collect his Premiership medal.

    I can’t wait to see Ramsey wheeled out on crutches at the Emirates and as chary says we should sing his name throughout the home games.

  9. London says:

    I would just like to be reassured of what might seem obvious but I still want to be told that Ramsey’s injury is straight forward opposed to the obvious complications that come with an ankle injury.

    Great read Chary, addressing the psychological angle is as heart felt as it is clever, nice one.

  10. Big Raddy says:

    Excellent Chary and German poetry to boot !

    I believe Ruckert must have tried moving from London to CPH, because his words replicate how I felt when I first came here!

    I agree that Ramsey being both young and British will have advantages, however the strain of recuperation will be the same. Aaron is in for a long hard summer.

  11. charybdis1966 says:

    Thanks Raspers, I don’t know if could be inspired enough on a weekly basis though to produce anything good enough, but here’s hoping. I’ve also noticed all the Arsenal blogs seem to be closing ranks against the rest of the world, which is obviously a good thing. Our unity through the final push, when we have to go over the top one last time this season could be the swinging factor.
    My god, my Arsenal, what you put me through.

  12. Monkey says:

    by the way it is ‘Chipo’ here!

  13. London says:

    I suppose that at least Ramsey will have the small comfort of knowing that three of the months he is out will be in the close season when he wouldn’t be able to play football anyway.

  14. Monkey says:

    London they have said that. Apparently the fractures were clean whereas with Eduardo’s there were compound fractures (ie the bone splits into more than 2 pieces)

  15. Rasputin says:

    Hi chary,

    I agree. I wanted to carry it on yesterday and today. What will it take before something is done? The FA has been conspicuos in its silence over the matter. No hint of reviewing the tackle and maybe extending the ban – is that maybe because the saintly young Englishman will be representing his country at Wembley tonight?

  16. London says:

    ¿El Chipo que habla español con fluidez?

  17. Rasputin says:

    Half past nine London…

  18. London – I’m sure I read that there were 2 clean breaks and that they were happy with how the surgery – re-setting? – had gone.

  19. Monkey says:

    Lo mismo!

  20. Big Raddy says:

    Hi Chipo . Good to see you.

    I think AFC are better challenging the FA and in particular the Referee’s Association than Shawcross. Player protection must be paramount.

  21. Chary – I absolutely cannot take all the credit for the headline – some has to go to Rasputin 😆

  22. Monkey says:

    Raddy, i think it would be good, but it is not a replacement for Ramsey.

    I watched Melo last night and he is a simple player. Wins the ball and releases it. Like Denilson but with a bit more aggression. More like De Jong.

    Would be a good summer signing.

  23. Rasputin says:

    I watched Melo last night and thought he had a good game. He is like a slightly more athletic Gilberto – who incidently has not changed at all, he intercepts passes and breaks up play but still 1 in 3 of his passes go straight to the opposition.

  24. London says:

    Bienvenido

    Half past nine…..that’s funny.

  25. charybdis1966 says:

    London, it struck a chord with me when I saw the ambulance taking him away that he’d have a long road back to well-being and then fitness.
    Radders, I thought of a different set of poetry set to song by one of my favourite composers Mahler, namely Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen(Songs of the Wayfarer/weary traveller) when you look at Rambo’s long road to recovery. The more I thought about it the more his Ruckertleider song cycle seemed more appropriate. I was just hoping it didn’t end up sounding like “Pseuds corner” off Private Eye! I’m sure going to Denmark initially must have felt pretty isolating.

  26. kelsey says:

    London said,

    Great read Chary, addressing the psychological angle is as heart felt as it is clever, nice one.

    I couldn’t agree more, and unfortunately this is something very near to my heart.Personally I don’t think age or nationality comes into it.I would love to relate my own story,but it’s not really relevant,except following the Arsenal had a direct consequence on how I live today.

    Tonight will be all about JT, will he be booed or not, as opposed to seeing how various players perform.Hopefully Walcott will get some playing time, if not one may have to cross him off the list.

  27. SharkeySure says:

    Top top quality that Chary, brilliant post.

    I broke my leg (tib and fib), and it was a very moving experience the first time that I was back amongst the boys with football boots on.

    I was actually only joining in the pre match warm up as I was still 3 mths away from playing, but the feeling of love and support was amazing.

    I make you spot on re keeping Rambo ‘around’.

    I can’t wait for Sat’s game now…..I’ll be singing Rambo’s name loud and clear

  28. Monkey says:

    Walcott will start.

  29. charybdis1966 says:

    Hi Kelsey – I think JT should be boo-ed with both barrels by all who can go to Wembley tonight. He is an utter disgrace to any team let alone the national team and it should be him who steps down from the England squad and not Bridge.
    I used to work with an Irish woman who said to me years ago that JT was a nasty piece of work yet I couldn’t see it back then. How right she was though.

  30. SharkeySure says:

    NOt usre that tonight is a will he or wonl;t he re JT.

    Its got to be odds on for booing surely….??

  31. Hi kelsey – what if Theo starts and has an absolute blinder – we’ll have to keep him then 🙂

    Actually theres no chance of that happening as the others never pass to him 😦 Its just jealously

  32. SharkeySure says:

    *Not sure that tonight is a will he or won’t he re JT.*

  33. By all accounts Adrian Durham has sanctioned the boo-ing of JT so he’ll be getting a warm welcome.

  34. London says:

    Monkey

    Walcott will start tonight or Saturday?

  35. Big Raddy says:

    I will be booing the television!

  36. Big Raddy says:

    Theo will surely start on Saturday. Burnley are the type of team that can boost his confidence (he wrote tentatively!)

  37. Monkey says:

    Tonight.

  38. Just found this on another site – I didn’t realise Hleb was still a Barça – wheres the cedila? – player…..

    http://justarsenal.com/hleb-to-return-to-arsenal-next-summer/3091

  39. Lampard never brings Theo into the game.

  40. London says:

    Alt135 = ç

  41. Rasputin says:

    Someone’s just used London’s cattle prod on me 🙄 – sideways, too clever by half Hleb – no thanks, we don’t need him. We’ve got Nasri, Rosicky, AA etc etc, why would we want him back?

  42. SharkeySure says:

    The Everton fans used to chant that Gerrarsd wasn’t the father to the kid his wife had just had. Now he goes and says this:

    “And Liverpool midfielder Steven Gerrard, who will lead England for the Egypt match, says his wife Alex will not be in South Africa “unless we get to the semis or the final”.

    “I don’t know if having the WAGs there affected our performance last time,” he said. “But my wife won’t be there.

    “She’s got two kids who’ll be in school and it’s a long way away. If we get to the semis, she deserves to come and see me.”

    Oh dear….

  43. charybdis1966 says:

    Thanks S Sure – and you sing his name loud & proud. I’ll be in the Red Action section doing the same.

  44. SharkeySure says:

    Will do Chary

  45. Big Raddy says:

    Hleb? No thanks.

    Melo? Can’t really see it unless another Brazilian is on his way out of THOF.

    I would rather we spent the money on a GK.

  46. kelsey says:

    please read this. it is a very pro wenger site, but nevertheless puts a legal case forward against stoke/shawcross

    http://blog.emiratesstadium.info/

  47. charybdis1966 says:

    Agree with you there Radders, Hleb had his chance to be part of something special but a whiff of Vanilla and flakes in a cone and he was off to the quiet life in that sleepy hamlet of Barcelona. He wouldn’t fit in here now and we’ve moved on.
    It’s a given now – not just that we need a new goal keeper but the name of the one we could have got.

  48. Rasputin says:

    ‘Given’ – very clever chary. I don’t know why GK’s are so cheap, yet manager’s seem to think they are over-priced. Would Arsène ever stump up £10m plus for a quality keeper like Lloris or Akinfeev? It’s ridiculous really, because the GK is the one player who can on his own, win or lose a game.

  49. charybdis1966 says:

    On the face of it Raspers, it seems that Wenger has lost a lot of interest in making a quality keeper part f his remit. For a while I thought he’d fallen into the trap of anyone in a position of unquestioned power in any organisation where he only busied himself in those tasks that he found interesting – namely refining small, tricky midfielders and their play.
    I suspect I’m being glib in my assessment and maybe behind the scenes the goal keeping problem is being addressed. We really should make this a priority as any trophy winning team has to be built on the foundation of a good defence and that comes from a GK who commands his area and takes crosses well – not just one who is a good shot stopper only.

  50. Melo would be an awesome addtion to the club.

    He could definately cover as the midfield enforcer, or play in a more attacking/creative part of central midfield.

    I have seen a lot of this lad play, and i think he would have an amazing career with this arsenal side under wenger.

  51. kelsey says:

    we have had 10 keepers on our books since Seaman retired,all have had first team selection.

    Re Walcott, his crosses rate this season is 11% even allowing for few games, that is poor.

  52. charybdis1966 says:

    SFH – I saw a headline on Newsnow calling Melo a “hatchet man” – can that be right?
    Kelsey – Theo has the Arsenal disease – we don’t practice our crossing as we tend to prefer playing through the middle with squillions of short passes.

  53. This is taken from a Rosicky interview in the Mail

    ‘If you see, for example, how many fouls the opponents can do against us, five, six and after that it’s a yellow card, we are making one or two fouls and we’ve got immediately yellow cards, so we have to be more protected as well.’

    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1255130/Aaron-Ramsey-injury-proof-Arsenal-need-protection-refs-says-Tomas-Rosicky.html?ITO=1490#ixzz0h7YvYtfs

  54. charybdis1966 says:

    Rosicky must have been reading my post last Monday, eh Peachy ?

  55. charybdis1966 says:

    I was just thinking that if Sol plays on Saturday then that will be his first home game (in his 2nd spell with us of course)since he signed for us. He’s sure to get a special welcome home – I wonder if he’ll play at Shite Hart Lane? That’ll have those gyppos from N17 groaning and moaning, that’s for sure.

  56. chary – melo picks up his fair share of bookings for rash challenges.. but he is no hatchet man.

    he is a very, very tough competitor.. who happens to have outstanding techincal abilty and the vision to pick out a pass… he is a starter for brazil.. and he would just be the ideal player in our midfield trio.. he could easily, very easily slot into either the DM CM or AM role.

  57. Big Raddy says:

    I really hope Sol plays at WHL, though I doubt he will. A sub appearance perhaps.

  58. Alfa says:

    Morning all. Nice angel Chary and great title. I can’t wait to get back to the football, feels a bit flat after the emotion of last weekend.

    Anyone got any thoughts on the shop?

  59. charybdis1966 says:

    SFH – I did catch a few minutes of him playing for Juve in the Europa but it wasn’t enough to form a rational opinion of him. If he appears to be good DM material then he can be no worse than Denilson and therefore worth a punt.
    As long as Gallas is fit by then Radders I don’t see him starting either, mind you if he does I hope the rozzers are out to catch the chanting/abuse that got some of the tiny totts barred for life after a Pompey game.

  60. chary – if arsenal sign melo… IF

    remember me saying this….

    he will become a fans favourite very quickly… he is world class, he is there at 26, fully developed and ready to play 40 games at the highest level.

    there is not another midfielder we could sign who would be so complimentary to this team and the current 4-3-3 system we employ.

  61. *40 games a season

  62. problem is.. he will have a barnstorming world cup with brazil

    and i am sure real madrid or barca will go for him.

  63. Rasputin says:

    Hi Alfa,

    I think the shop is an excellent idea – I can’t imagine why anyone would object. I think it would be best if the proceeds could be channelled straight through to The Willow Foundation by whatever means is best. We don’t really want to get involved in setting up bank accounts etc. as no doubt we would then have to have an accounting system of our own and that would just be a waste of money.

  64. Rasputin says:

    SH,

    I can’t belive I am saying this, but, if we are lucky with injuries next season (hahahahaaa) will we need Melo? Would you opt for Melo over a world class GK?

    I don’t know the stats, but I would imagine at least 10 of the squad (inc bench) that we will field on saturday will be playing in internationals this week – I wonder how many of the Burnley players will be on international duty?

  65. charybdis1966 says:

    Cheers Alfa – although the title was a Peachy/Raspers combined effort, my original title was a limp “The Way back” in respect of the first episode of one of my favourite TV series when I were a lad, Blakes 7.

  66. Shava says:

    Hi guys, im sure you all know about Arsenal supporting Great Ormand Street Hospital Children’s Charity and believe it to be a good cause. I just wanted to let everyone know that i am running the 10 laps around the stadium in around 10 days and would really, really appreciate any donations that you guys can make. Nothing is too big or too small and it really is going towards a fantastic cause. I don’t comment much, but i try to read almost every blog that appears on the Arsenal newsnow page so please don’t think i have no interest in your articles and am only on here for your money. As i have already said, it is all going to a good cause and anything and everything you donate will be fully appreciate, whether that be 50p or £50. Thanks a lot 🙂

    The website is here; http://www.justgiving.com/Jasmyn-Chana

  67. charybdis1966 says:

    If that’s the case SFH it behoves Wenger to sign him up BEFORE the World cup because if he leaves it too late there’ll be slim pickings once Barca and General Franco’s team(Real Mad) have gorged themselves on the talent available.

  68. Rasputin says:

    Hi Shava,

    Apologies, your comment from an hour ago went into spam because it contained a link.

  69. dandan says:

    You know I couldn’t give a monkeys about Terry tonight, am much more interested in seeing a motivated and fit Theo getting behind a defence and pulling the ball back, Rooney would love it and a confident Theo will be needed in the weeks ahead

  70. dandan says:

    You know if I am honest, I couldn’t give a monkeys about Terry tonight. Am much more interested in seeing a motivated and fit Theo getting behind a defence and pulling the ball back, Rooney would love it and a confident Theo will be needed in the weeks ahead

  71. Rasputin says:

    Hi dandan,

    I’d go a step further and say I couldn’t give a monkey’s about England this evening, since our own FA is failing in it’s duty of care for all our players whichever country they come from.

  72. dandan says:

    It would appear I am beginning to repeat myself. Sorry folks

  73. dandan says:

    Rasp LOL

  74. kelsey says:

    I have been reading through the the different blogs, and it’s all Ramseys fault for challenging for the ball.Wenger wants the rules changed to suit him.We play the most attractive football in the Pl, recognised by all, yet we are pansies.Being an Arsenal supporter is hard these days.Before we were boring, and if we win the league it will be because United and Chelsea slipped up. Personally I don’t care a shite about today’s game I just want to see Theo get some confidence back.
    Naturally the tabloids will concentrate on the booing Terry gets.

  75. Big Raddy says:

    I wonder if the Egyptians will shake Terry’s hand. Be very funny if one or two refused.

    If we win the PL it will be because over the season we have been the best team, but let us not get ahead of ourselves and put a bock on it.

  76. charybdis1966 says:

    They should chop his hand off not shake it Radders, isn’t that the penalty for adultery under shariat law?

  77. dandan says:

    Bit strong that chary, can think of a GK or two would have struggled under those Rules, Peter Shilton for one.

  78. Big Raddy says:

    I think a stoning in Covent Garden would suffice Chary. Though it could become a bit Life of Brian’ish.

    Very sad about Keith Alexander. I used to watch him play at Barnet. Big fella, little skills but gave everything.

  79. Rasputin says:

    It will also be interesting if Shawcross plays. It will not have escaped the Egyptians that he is the player who broke someone’s leg at the weekend. I wonder if they’ll set their hard man on him or just all collapse if he even sneezes near them?

  80. Big Raddy says:

    There is a fair chance he will play. Capello must be very worried about his CB ppairing, in fact the whole defence is shot to pieces.

    No reliable GK (ring any bells)
    LB. Broken Ankle and no decent replacement
    Terry struggling for form etc etc etc
    Rio. The same and injured.
    RB. Johnson injured and no adequate replacement apart from an old man

    What is surprising is that when the AFC fans were talking up Gibbs as a WC possible, I laughed. But had he been fit, I am sure he would be in the squad.

    I wouldn’t be shocked to see Sol get a call up

  81. Rasputin says:

    I asked the question yesterday about Sol. Even if he played every other game, he would bring something to the team. He’s as well for us in his last two games as at any time whilst with Pompey.

  82. Big Raddy says:

    I am shocked that other bloggers(not on here) are so anti -England.

    Some of my best nights have been spent at Wembley following England. (tho unlike Kelsey I didn’t go the the WC Final in ’66, I only managed the QF.

    Could it be as ex-pats we are more patriotic?

  83. dandan says:

    I only watched it on TV, But my younger sister was on a school exchange visit with a German family, we had taught her all the players names, she had a ball. LOL

  84. Theo is starting so at least we have someone to look forward to watching.

  85. Raddy – I believe that the lack of Arsenal players in an England side makes it uncomfortable for us to whole-heartedly get behind the England team. Having to support the likes of Lampard, Terry and Gerrard kind of sticks in the throat.

  86. I think having Theo and Gibbs would have made a difference though. If he wasn’t injured I’m certain Gibbs would have been included.

  87. dandan says:

    The next world cup could well be an Arsenal showpiece, there are a hatful of good English lads coming through the system.
    Arsenals problem may well be fitting them in the side as the present players mature.
    The pressure from some fans to win something will put pressure on Wenger to hold this current team together, rather than selling some on and fitting the young players coming through into the team.

  88. Big Raddy says:

    Dandan. I was in Germany with the school for the Final. We were dancing in the streets and almost got arrested! I still have my ticket for the QF v Argentina – it is one of my most treasured possessions.

    Peaches. If Theo plays will it make people support England?

    I can date exactly when things changed – WC1990, and Gazza’s tears. Suddenly football became worthy of trash journalists, and the back page became the Front page. Prior to that football was primarily a working class sport, haunted by hooliganism.

    I would like to do a communal post on 26th May 1989, and where we all where. ….. I was at a dinner party in a flat in Hampstead surrounded by media types, all of whom guffawed when I insisted upon having a television by my chair. Within 3 years they were all season ticket holders at Chelsea, Arsenal , MU and Spurs. All as fanatical as I am, but without the history.

    So support became based more around the clubs than the country (plus the influx of foreign players). Trash journalism builds up JT and destroys him, same with Gazza, Becks and Ashley.

    Jimmy Greaves wasn’t exactly snow-white, but because football was not considered news, no-one cared.

    When kick-off for the WC comes, I will be cheering on Rooney, Ashley (hope he recovers) Fat Frank, StevieMe, etc with as much relish as I detest them during the club season.

    Ingerland, Ingerland, Ingerland…..

  89. dandan says:

    I like the sound of that communal post Raddy

  90. kelsey says:

    theo starts.

  91. kelsey says:

    i think our combined age is about 200. is that some sort of blog record 😉

  92. Big Raddy says:

    lol Kelsey.

    It would be 20 bloggers on Arseblog!

  93. London says:

    My dividing line is made clear by asking and answering one question: if you had a choice between England winning the World Cup or Arsenal winning the Champions League which would you chose?

  94. theo starts!!!

    wow, that has go to give the lad a huge boost in confidence.

    brilliant for us.

  95. Big Raddy says:

    That’s not fair London…..

    I would choose both (writes BR sheepishly knowing he is not being totally honest)

  96. London says:

    Exactly BR

    There is only one winner 😉

  97. kelsey says:

    Arsenal winning the CL for two reasons. One is that is something none of us have ever witnessed and secondly I honestly believe we have more chance than England repeating 1966.

  98. i think only one of 3 teams are in with a shout of winning the world cup this summer.

    england is definately one of them.

  99. London says:

    I think it is understandable that people get slightly more patriotic when they live abroad.
    On a slightly different level I know my support of Arsenal gets even more intense when I am out of the country for any length of time.

  100. London says:

    I cannot see England winning it at all, there is Rooney up front and………….who? That isn’t enough to win anything.

  101. gerrard is world class, defoe is about as good a goal poacher as there is.

    lampard is very experienced.

    aside from spain and brasil… who else in world football actually has a good team?

  102. London says:

    I definitely hope Theo makes the World Cup squad though; the experience will do him the world of good as I thought this involvement in that recent Euro under 21 competition could only be advantageous. I never understood why some Arsenal supporters thought his involvement was a bad idea.

  103. I’m in no doubt that Arsenal to win the Champions lge would be by far the most exciting achievement……although I love the fact that the country goes completely nuts when there’s an International competition.

  104. London says:

    SFH

    Sorry I didn’t explain myself properly, I meant in attack, we have Rooney and……..who?

    You could say Walcott at this point and I would have to shut up 😉

  105. Big Raddy says:

    If on form….

    Rooney, Terry, Lamps, SG, Ash and Rio are world class. Theo could step up, so could Defoe or Lennon.

    MU do OK with only one striker!

    I really believe we have a chance

  106. London says:

    I supose so, have Rooney and Defoe ever started a game?

  107. I have a theory about why some gooners don’t want Theo to go to the world cup. It all has to do with performance and being associated with Arsenal.

    I’m certain that if Theo was having an amazing season then you wouldn’t be able to find a gooner that didn’t want him to go but hes an unknown at the moment and we can cope with him being an unknown for Arsenal but for England…….imagine the ribbing from other teams supporters

  108. london, they are tonight… lets see how they get on.

  109. btw – nikki b has scored AGAIN for denmark tonight.

  110. See, Theo nearly had an assist aleady 🙂

  111. Rasputin says:

    Hi folks,

    Fwank missed a sitter courtesy of Theo’s pace and cross (why doesn’t he do that for us?)

    We have a new widget top right for those intrerested in the countdown to the title…….

  112. Hi rasp – hes honing his craft with England – hes even scored a hat-trick for England 😦

    Nice new widget 😆

    I think we’ll draw at Hull and beat Citeh at home

  113. i think we draw at brum but beat city at home

    so same points total

  114. Rasputin says:

    Fantastic goal – is that the same M Zidan we’ve been linked with a few times? – we won’t be able to afford him now 😦

    Hi SH, I just put the points in for a bit of fun, I’ll change them as the results come in.

  115. London says:

    Peaches

    I think your theory is spot on. I hadn’t thought about that before.

  116. Big Raddy says:

    I think I should just share with you that my most hated player of alltime was……

    Teddy Sheringham. Even writing the name fills me with venom.

  117. London says:

    Hey I like the widget, I only have one problem with it and that is you only gave us one point against spuds….it’s a three point banker 😉

  118. London says:

    Definitely

  119. Thanks London – I don’t charge much for the psycho analysis 😉

    What is it about the commentators that they don’t understand that if supporters feel the need to boo JT they’re going to do it……..wait till they get hold of Cashley.

  120. Yet again Theo is hardly in the game – Wes Brown is useless – hes drifting inside and not passing to Theo. The little time Theo has had on the ball he has been skillful. Theres no play on the right at all and no doubt it’ll be Theos fault 😦

  121. Rasputin says:

    Thanks folks. The only trouble with the widget was that it wasn’t a countdown – I’ve reversed the numbering now. You can all buy me a pint at the victory parade if I’ve got the score predictions right 😉

  122. Rasputin says:

    Theo will get picked on by the press. Mark Bright has already said on twitter that Theo was disappointing.

    Carrick controlled the midfield and Milner was much better than Gerrard wide left.

  123. And Peter Crouch was much better than Defoe…..

    And Rasputin do you ever read anyone elses comments… 🙄

  124. Big Raddy says:

    Well I am ambivalent about Theo.

    He didn’t get the passes and when he did ran into the defender. IMO he will not be going to SA.

    Sad for him but good for AFC. The guy needs to get a solid pre-season if he is to shine next year,

  125. London says:

    I think Theo did enough. Capello is very logical, he knew there would be space in the first half and when there is space Walcott is a better choice than both Lennon and Wright Phillips look at the fantastic cut back he did for Lumplard to mess up. However, when the play got more condenced and there was less space then Wright Phillips is a better choice as he has better control in tight spaces.

  126. London says:

    If that tub of Lard had scored the sitter Walcott gave him then the printers would have got the go ahead to start printing England shirts with Theo’s name on.

  127. Alfa says:

    Evening all. Like the countdown but I think B’ham is a more likely draw than the spuds. ‘arry will be desperate to beat us and it will be an open game that we’ll win.

    Only saw the second half. England were OK. Some of the players I like but there is absolutely no comparison with Arsenal winning the CL. I pretty much lost interest in the England team 15 years ago and the thought of Terry, Ferdinand and Cashley lifting the trophy is not very appealing.

  128. dandan says:

    I am with Raddy on this one, a nice break with his GF for Theo and then back for a proper injury free pre- season. Would do him and us the world of good.

  129. Alfa says:

    A friend of mine (and London, Chaf and Benwell) said to me a couple of years ago, after Terry had been boo’ed for the whole match at the Emirates, that it was tragic that the England captain should be boo’ed and that it never happened to Bobby Moore. Says it all for me.

  130. i also think theo will be on the plane to SA

    i get the feeling fabio really likes him and believes in him coming good.

    i am 100% certain he will make the squad.

  131. kelsey says:

    The Walcott debate continues, and obviously I was looking to see how he would perform last night. One of the commentators said he looked rusty, whilst others said he didn’t enhance his chances of going to the World Cup. Apart from a great cut back to Lampard (who should have scored) he was fairly anonymous partly because the reluctance to feed the ball out to him, and even allowing for his various injuries and limited playing time this season, he isn’t improving. His first touch is poor, he hardly ever tackles and is easily dispossessed. Maybe not going to South Africa may benefit Arsenal in the long term, as I still feel he is under huge mental pressure to live up to his price tag and potential that was talked about some four years ago. His stats for crosses this season is 11% is poor by any standard.

    We obviously don’t agree, though I don’t think SWP is the answer either.

  132. Alfa says:

    Morning kelsey. I see it this way. The problem with Theo is that all of us, especially club fans, are looking for a good all round player. It seems to me that the best managers, especially at national level, look for a player who can do one thing exceptionally well. Remember Michael Owen’s goal against Argentina? A goal like that is priceless and it doesn’t matter if the player who scores it doesn’t tackle or cross well – you can sub him or drop him for the next game if we are playing a different kind of team. On the other hand a good all round player would never have the pace to have scored that goal.

    Arsene and Capello both know that Theo could turn a game on the right day and not many players can do that. He needs to get his confidence and work on his touch and crossing of course.

    Of course, if you can be good all round and exceptional at somethings as well, then you are one of the greats.

  133. kelsey says:

    Morning Alfa,

    I accept what you say but I get a little confused about Theo. He has always maintained his preferred role is as a central attacker or striker . One moment of magic can of course win one a game, but all I see with theo is pace, at least for the moment.

    By the way no injuries to report as yet from last night. Nic scored a header, Cesc played half a game and Eboue played a full game.

  134. London says:

    It surely has to be our collective hope that Walcott makes the World Cup squad…..The young man is in dire need of experience and what better place to get it than in South Africa and at England’s expense rather than ours which will make a change when you think of the injuries he has picked up while on England duty robbing us of the more developed player he really should be by now.

  135. kelsey says:

    Morning london,

    The only benefit is if he is played,not sat on the subs bench, as he is nowhere near an automatic choice.

  136. asics singspore store

Leave a comment